2 bets in PDEA narco list reelected in Samar, Biliran village polls

By: - Correspondent / @joeygabietaINQ
/ 04:29 PM May 15, 2018

TACLOBAN CITY – Two village officials in Samar and Biliran who were in the narco list of the Philippine Drug Enforcement Agency (PDEA) won their reelection bids during the May 14 barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan elections.

Pomar Jabolin was reelected councilor of Barangay Dos, San Jose de Buan town, Samar while Ricky Ansale received a fresh mandate as councilor of Barangay Matango, Almeria town in Biliran.


Jabolin ranked fifth of 11 candidates for council seats while Ansale finished third of 14 candidates.

Another official from Eastern Visayas who was in the narco list was defeated.


Julie Rebato was not reelected as barangay councilor of Dos, San Jose de Buan, said PO2 Andrew Mark Mario of the San Jose de Buan police station.

The PDEA earlier released the names of 90 barangay captains and 117 barangay councilors who were in a “narco list,” either as protectors or users.

The police in Eastern Visayas had earlier cleared Jabolin, Ansale and Rebato, saying they used to be drug users who changed their ways after surrendering during Oplan Tokhang, the police campaign that asked drug personalities to surrender.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: barangay election winners, Biliran, narco list, PDEA, Pomar Jabolin, Ricky Ansale, Samar
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2019 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.