House replaces leadership posts vacated by Arroyo, Vilma Santos

By: - Reporter / @deejayapINQ
/ 07:28 PM August 09, 2017

The House of Representatives on Wednesday elected replacements for former President and Pampanga Rep. Gloria Macapagal Arroyo and Batangas City Rep. Vilma Santos-Recto, who were stripped of their leadership posts in March for voting against the death penalty bill.

The deputy speakership vacated by Arroyo was given to Bulacan Rep. Linabelle Ruth Villarica, who previously chaired the House foreign affairs committee, according to Majority Leader Rodolfo Fariñas.


Replacing Villarica as chair of the foreign affairs panel was Isabela Rep. Ana Cristina Go.

On the other hand, Santos-Recto’s seat as chair of the committee on civil service and professional regulation by fellow Batangas Rep. Marvey Mariño, Fariñas said.


On March 15, the House leadership meted out reprisals to several lawmakers who had voted “no” to the death penalty bill by declaring their posts vacant. JE

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Arroyo, chairperson, Death penalty, deputy speaker, House of Representatives, leader, Vilma Santos
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.