This week's historical milestones | Inquirer News

This week’s historical milestones

/ 12:21 AM June 18, 2017

June 18, 1966


Mountain Province was divided into four provinces: Benguet, Ifugao, Mountain Province and Kalinga-Apayao by virtue of Republic Act No. 4695. And then on Feb. 14, 1995, Kalinga-Apayao was converted into separate and distinct provinces through RA 7878.

June 23, 1997


The Philippine tarsier (Tarsius syrichta), found mostly in Bohol, Samar, Leyte and Mindanao is declared a specially protected faunal species by virtue of Proclamation No. 1030, signed by then President Fidel Ramos. The declaration prohibits the hunting, killing, wounding and unauthorized possession of the species, which is one of the smallest known primates in the world.

Sources: Inquirer Archives, Official Calendar of the Republic, DOT,,,

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Milestones, News, Regions
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

News that matters

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

© Copyright 1997-2022 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.