Duterte pins second highest award for combat to 2 junior officers

/ 01:31 PM April 05, 2017

Two junior officers received the Distinguished Conduct Star, the second highest award for combat, for their achievements against the Abu Sayyaf in Basilan and Sulu.

President Rodrigo Duterte awarded Captains Ariel Robles and Dennis Arado with medals for their heroic actions at the 120th anniversary of the Philippine Army in Fort Bonifacio on Tuesday. There were 24 other recipients of various awards.


Robles was a company commander of the 3rd Scout Ranger Battalion that raided a manufacturing camp that made improvised explosive devices. The unit raided the camp found in Sitio Project, Brgy. Tuburan Proper,Hadji Mohammad Ajul, Basilan Province on May 14, 2015.

Arado of the 32nd Infantry Battalion was the infantry company commander who led the operations against thirty Abu Sayyaf Group members in armed conflict at Sitio Kan-udang, Brgy. Tagbili, Patikul Sulu on February 5, 2015.


Other awardees were:

Maj. Gen. Rafael Valencia, Oustanding Achievement Medal — for developing the “Philippine Army Operating Concept” which laid down the guide on how the Army conducts its warfighting

Maj. Gen. Rhoderick Parayno, Distinguished Service Star — as brigade commander from Mar. 30, 2014 to Mar. 24, 2016 that led to the realization of various community projects in Alabel, Quezon.

Private First Class Eddie Boy Villar, Gold Cross Medal — an infantry squad leader that took part in an encounter against 20 members of CPP-NPA-NDF in Sitio Tagbulete, Brgy Del Monte, Veruela, Agusan del Sur on Jun. 27, 2015.

PFC Glyn Senangote, Gold Cross Medal — an infantry rifleman that took part in an encounter against 300 ASG members in Brgy. Gata, Talipao, Sulu on Apr. 9, 2015.

Captain Armando Gabia, Silver Cross Medal — one of the key officers who provided support during a pursuit operations against 200 members of a local terrorist organization under Maute brothers in Butig, Lanao Del Sur from Feb. 21 to Mar. 1, 2016.

First Lieutenant Joe Mark Bitbit, Siver Cross Medal — member of a special group that provided support to the successful conduct of anti-drug operation resulting to the arrest of several personalities and confiscation of packs of shabu worth Php800,000.00 at Sitio Bato, Brgy Ermita, Cebu City paralyzing the illegal drug trade in the said province.


Lieutenant Colonel Leonardo Pagaduan, Gawad sa Kaunlaran — an engineer battalion commander who led the successful completion of infrastructure projects at Floridablanca Elementary School, Brgy. San Antonio, Pampanga from Jul. 17 to Aug. 17, 2016.

Ltc. Joel Mamon, Bronze Cross Medal — Battalion Commander, 4IB, 6ID in the conduct of Law Enforcement Operations against BIFF forces in Brgy. Libutan, Mamasapano, Maguindanao from Jul. 10 to 31, 2016.

Corporal Lolibel Guloy, Bronze Cross Medal — member of the HADR unit that played significant role during the conduct of rescue and retrieval operations after the onslaught of typhoon “Lando” in Sitio Pugo, Brgy. Junction, Pinukpuk, Kalinga on Oct. 18, 2015 saving 18 civilians trapped in an island farm located in the middle of Chico River.

Corporal Adonis Sombrero, Bronze Cross Medal — member of the joint AFP-PNP group that conducted a successful raid on a discovered shabu laboratory in Brgy. Palta Small, Virac, Catanduanes on Nov. 26, 2016 resulting to confiscation of more or less 1.1 kilogram of shabu and the dismantling of shabu laboratory.

Sergeant Joseph Hulibayan, Enlisted Personnel of the Year -assigned in the Scout Platoon of 26IB, 4ID who conducted 14 combat operations that significantly contributed to the accomplishment of 4ID’s mission.

CAA Roy Manlampoong, CAFGU active auxiliary of the year — under the supervision of 3SFB, SFR(A), SOCOM who contributed to the successful encounters at 4ID area of responsibility.

Mrs. Armi Agatea, Model Supervisor for 2017 — for initiating several projects/programs benefitting the civilian personnel of the Army.

Dr. Blanca Bien, Model Employee for 2017 — accomplished her duties beyond working hours yet ensuring appropriate dental health care to personnel within her division as well as extending services in civic action activities.

Ltc Allan Rellion, Army Best Reservist Officer for 2017 — he led the 2201st (RR) Infantry Brigade under 11RCDG, ARESCOM based in Tagum City and Davao Del Norte Province in numerous collaborative efforts with the LGUs and NGOs on development projects for the communities under his jurisdiction.

Sergreant Ronaldo Locion, Army Best Reservist Enlisted Personnel for 2017 — he initiated the active participation of his unit in humanitarian assistance and disaster response activities as well as in other community projects services.

Cdt Col. Edmond Limbaga, Best Male Advanced ROTC Cadet for 2017 — s Corps Commander of the Visayas State University (VSU) ROTC Unit, Baybay City, Leyte, he led his ROTC unit be adjudged as the Champion during the Regional and Annual Administrative and Tactical Inspection (RAATI) for two consecutive years — 2015 to 2016.

Cdt Col Gea Brellia Jayson, Best Female Advanced ROTC Cadet for 2017 — as Corps Commander of the University of the Philippines – Diliman ROTC Unit, Quezon City, she facilitated the support from school administrators in promoting ROTC programs leading to the gradual increase of ROTC enrollees at the University of the Philippines. She also represented the AFP during the Cultural Understanding and Language Proficiency (CULP) Exchange Program in Guam, USA in November 2016.

Provincial Government of Bohol, Command Plaque — For contributing to the community-based peace and development initiatives, especially for the former rebels in the Province of Bohol.

Provincial Government of Agusan del Norte, Command Plaque — For supporting the peace building and national development initiatives paving the way for the declaration of the Province of Agusan del Norte as Conflict Manageable and Ready for Further Development (CMRFD) area.

Provincial Government of South Cotabato, Command Plaque — For supporting the peace building and national development initiatives that led to the declaration of the Province of South Cotabato as cleared area.

Provincial Government of Davao Occidental, Command Plaque — For supporting the Philippine Army in its peace and development initiatives across conflict-affected areas in the Province of Davao Occidental.

Junior Chamber International San Juan Dambana, Command Plaque — For supporting the community-based peace and development initiatives through the implementation of innovative programs on community service, environmental awareness, entrepreneurship and youth development.

San Miguel Corporation, Command Plaque — For supporting the Philippine Army in its development support initiatives through infrastructure projects dedicated for Army personnel and medical doctors that immensely contributed to the upliftment of morale and welfare of troops.  CBB

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: abu sayyaf, Basilan, Distinguished Conduct Star, military awards, news, Rodrigo Duterte, Sulu
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.