10 senators vote to proceed with probe on Duterte's DDS 'ties' | Inquirer News

10 senators vote to proceed with probe on Duterte’s DDS ‘ties’

By: - Reporter / @MAgerINQ
07:52 PM February 21, 2017

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte orders the police officers facing administrative charges to be detailed in Basilan for two years as they were presented to the President at Malacañang on February 7, 2017. The President gave the erring police officers 15 days to decide whether to resign or accept their re-assignment in Basilan. SIMEON CELI JR./Presidential Photo

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte. SIMEON CELI JR./Presidential Photo

Ten senators  voted in a caucus on Tuesday to proceed with a Senate probe on President Rodrigo Duterte’s alleged involvement in the so-called Davao Death Squad (DDS), sources have said

The sources said the issue whether or  not to proceed with the Senate probe came to a vote during the caucus when Senator Richard Gordon allegedly questioned the decision of the chamber to refer the allegations  of the confessed DDS leader, former SPO3 Arthur Lascaña, against the President to the Senate committee on public order and dangerous drugs chaired by Senator Panfilo Lacson.


Lascaña accused Duterte of paying DDS members to kill criminals in Davao City when he was still its mayors.


The 10 who voted to proceed with the Senate probe are the following:

1. Senate President Pro Tempore Franklin Drilon
2. Senator Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan
3. Senator Leila de Lima
4. Senator Bam Aquino
5. Senator Risa Hontiveros
6. Senator Joel Villanueva
7. Senator Sonny Angara
8. Senate Minority Leader Ralph Recto
9. Senator Antonio “Sonny” Trillanes IV
10. Senator Francis “Chiz” Escudero

The first seven – Drilon, Pangilinan, De Lima, Aquino, Hontiveros, Villanueva and Angara – are part of the so-called supermajority bloc in the Senate while Recto, Escudero and Trillanes are with the minority group.

The sources said  seven senators voted against the Senate probe, including Senate President Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel III.

Aside from Pimentel, those who voted against the probe were Gordon, Senators Cynthia Villar,  Juan Miguel Zubiri, Manny Pacquiao, Sherwin Gatchalian and Gringo Honasan.

Five abstained from voting and they are Lacson, Senate Majority Leader Vicente “Tito” Sotto III, Senators JV Ejercito, Loren Legarda and Nancy Binay, the sources added.



Only senators Grace Poe and Alan Peter Cayetano were not present in the caucus.

But Poe, in an interview, already expressed her desire to proceed with the probe.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Cayetano, on the other hand, is a known ally of the President.


© Copyright 1997-2024 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.