This week’s milestones (Nov. 20 to 26) | Inquirer News

This week’s milestones (Nov. 20 to 26)

/ 01:00 AM November 20, 2016

Nov. 22

The old Cotabato province is divided into three provinces—North Cotabato, Maguindanao and Sultan Kudarat—under Presidential Decree No. 341 signed by Ferdinand Marcos in 1973. North Cotabato was later renamed Cotabato in 1984.

In 2011, the Supreme Court orders, in a unanimous decision, the distribution of almost 5,000 hectares of land to some 6,000 farmer-beneficiaries of Hacienda Luisita Inc.


Nov. 24


The Ferrocaril de Manila-Dagupan, the first railroad line in the country that ran from Manila to Dagupan, is opened to the public in 1892. The train line, with a total length of 195.4 kilometers, is the forerunner of the Philippine National Railways.



Compiled by Kathleen de Villa, Inquirer Research

Sources: DOT,,, Inquirer Archives

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: Cotabato, Dagupan, Ferdinand Marcos, PNR, Regions, Supreme Court

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.