Failure of elections in 11 towns

By: - Reporter / @santostinaINQ
/ 01:43 AM May 12, 2016

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) on Wednesday declared failure of elections in 11 towns in the Visayas and Mindanao.

The Comelec en banc issued Resolution No. 10129 ordering the conduct of special elections in a number of barangays on May 14.


The poll body said the failure of elections affected 52 clustered precincts and a total of 17,657 voters.

Comelec Chair Andres Bautista said that threats of violence, cases where the board of election inspectors failed to show up and exchanging of ballots from two different precincts forced the failure of elections in these areas.


 No printed officials ballots

–one precinct or 436 voters

affected in Barangay Gabi, Cordova, Cebu.

Wrongly delivered official ballots–two precincts or 1,298 voters affected Maitum, Sarangani; and Sta. Cruz, Marinduque.

 Lacking official ballots

–two precincts or 849 voters affected in Barangay Mabuyong, Anini-y and Barangay Insubuan, San Remigilio in Antique.

Security concerns–47 precincts or 15,074 voters affected in Lope de Vega, Barangay Roxas; Matuguinao-Nagpapacao in Western Samar; Binidayan, Lanao del Sur; and several other areas in Lanao del Sur.


The Comelec also ordered the suspension of proclaiming the winning candidates if the special elections would affect the results.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Elections 2016, failure of elections, Nation, news
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.