Masbate, Lanao Norte top winners in Sinulog 2016 Parade | Inquirer News

Masbate, Lanao Norte top winners in Sinulog 2016 Parade

/ 07:01 AM January 18, 2016

(Corrected) CEBU CITY– First-time winner Lanao del Norte and the Masbate contingent were the winners in the Sinulog 2016 Grand Parade in separate categories.

The Kulturang Placereño Masbate contingent emerged as the champion in the Sinulog-based category.

The Land of Beauty and Bounty contingent from  Lanao Del Norte won in the Free Interpretation category, beating Tribu Buyoganon of Abuyog, Leyte, last year’s grand winner.


Lumad Basakanon, which was last year’s winner in the street dancing category, dropped to 5th  place as Tribu Buyoganon of Abuyog, Leyte, took the the top prize.


Winners in three categories received P1 million each.

Lanao del Norte has been participating in the Sinulog Grand Parade since 2009 but this was the first time to win the top prize. It won fourth place twice, fifth place once and best in costume once.

Nestor Jardin, overall chairman of the panel of judges in the free interpretation category, said Lanao Del Norte won because their performance was “very laudable.”

“They sustained their energy from beginning to end. Production design was exemplary. Their choreography was synchronized with their props,” he said.

Josefina Guillen, chairman for Sinulog-based category, said the decision to give  Masbate the top prize was unanimous.

“There were highlights placed on the right places,” she told reporters.


For the street dancing competition, Jardin said Tribu Buyoganon did better this year beating last year’s champion.

Other winners for the free interpretation category were  Tribu Katbalaugan (2nd), Buyogan Festival-Tribu Buyoganon (3rd), Tribu Himag-ulaw (4th) and Lumad Basakanon (5th).

The other winners for the Sinulog-based category were Carcar City Division (2nd), Tangub City Sinanduloy Cultural Troupe (3rd), Pundok sa Kabataang Mananayaw sa Danao City (4th), and Municipality of Tuburan (5th).

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

For the Street dancing category, other winners are Tangub City’s Sinanduloy Cultural Troupe (2nd), Kulturang Placereño (3rd), Carcar City Division (4th), and Lumad Basakanon (5th).  SFM

TAGS: Abuyog, Cebu City, Culture, Festival, Fiesta, Leyte, News, parade, Regions, Tangub City

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.