Top UP alumnus is Nat’l Scientist, RM awardee

/ 05:41 AM May 22, 2015

The University of the Philippines Alumni Association (UPAA) has announced the choices for this year’s Distinguished Alumni Awardees. They will be recognized at the UP general alumni homecoming on June 20, beginning at 3 p.m., at Luciano E. Salazar Hall of Ang Bahay ng Alumni, UP Diliman campus.

The awards are conferred on UP alumni who have demonstrated, in their chosen fields of endeavor, extraordinary achievements and excellent contributions that bring about substantial benefits to society and distinct honor to the university. Recognition is given for achievements and contributions at the local, national or international level.


This year’s Most Distinguished Alumnus is National Scientist Ernesto O. Domingo, professor emeritus of the UP College of Medicine and Ramon Magsaysay (RM) Awardee for Medicine in 2013.

Six alumni are being recognized for lifetime achievement: Dr. Benjamin D. Adapon, Celia Diaz-Laurel, Dr. Florante P. Gonzaga, Rufino S. Ignacio, Dr. Reynaldo O. Joson and Cayetano D.L. Santiago.


“The UPAA makes a special effort to identify unsung alumni achievers—those whose accomplishments in little-known corners of the country and of the world are remarkable but have remained unheralded and unrecognized,” said regent Ponciano E. Rivera Jr., UPAA president.

The other awardees for outstanding achievement in various fields are:

Lisa Grace Sotocinal-Bersales, Ervin Nil A. Temporal, Maria Theresa M. Talavera, Herminio L. Alcasid Jr., Rey Mudjahid P. Millan, Maria

Christine M. Muyco, Priscelina Patajo-Legasto, Barbara Wong-Fernandez, Dina Joana S. Ocampo, Romeo S. Caparros, Vicente S. Quimbo Jr., Lilia

Coritana-Casanova, Estrella Dizon-Añonuevo, Filomenita Mongaya-Hoegsholm;

Nestor A. Espenilla Jr., Dr. Kenneth Y. Hartigan-Go, Aileen San Pablo-Baviera, Dr. Antonio Miguel L. Dans, Dr. Eduardo P. Banzon, Dr. Charlotte M. Chiong, Grace R. Princesa, Silvino A. Alcabasa Jr., Justice Antonio T. Carpio, Noe A. Wong, Geraldine Barangan-Korten, Dr. Marcelito C. Custodio, Cora de los Angeles-Añonuevo, Rep. Gary C. Alejano, Andrew O.

Nocon, Ma. Bella Brillantes-Javier, Rosario Gionson-Monsalud and Dr. Jonas Francisco Y. Santiago.


The five UPAA Distinguished Service Awardees are Marquez O. Go, Dr. Irma R. Makalinao, Rodrigo Angelo C. Ong, Eli M. Remolona and Dr. Cirilo R. Reyes Jr.

The UP Pharmacy Alumni Association and UP Vanguard Corps of Sponsors Alumni International will receive this year’s UPAA Distinguished Service Award for An Alumni Chapter.

For inquiries on the UP general alumni homecoming, contact the UPAA secretariat at (632) 9206871, (632) 9206868, (632) 9206875, (0917)837-2098, or [email protected], or log on to http://www.upalumni.ph.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: alumni, Awards and Prizes, Ernesto Domingo, University of the Philippines, UP alumni, UP Alumni Association, UP top alumnus
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.