UP College of Mass Comm holds homecoming Sept 20

05:07 PM September 08, 2014

The University of the Philippines College of Mass Communication (UP CMC) will hold its alumni homecoming dubbed as ‘’Countdown to Gold: CMC@49,’’ on Sept. 20, Saturday, at Zirkoh Comedy Bar, Tomas Morato ave., Quezon City.

Spearheaded by the UP CMC Alumni Association (UPCMCAA), the event will serve as a gathering in preparation for the college’s 50th founding anniversary in 2015.


UP CMC has consistently pursued its vision of developing socially responsible, critical and vigilant media to help create an egalitarian, participative and progressive society. Over the years, the UP-CMC has been consistently producing graduates who have become leaders and movers in the Philippine mass media.

Noted among the UP-CMC graduates are Senator Loren Legarda, ABS-CBN news and public affairs head Ging Reyes; broadcasters Jessica Soho, Malou Mangahas, Karen Davila, Mariz Umali, Luchi Cruz-Valdez, Twink Macaraig, Joseph Morong and Grace dela Peña,; entertainers Ogie Alcasid, Tessie Tomas, Giselle Sanchez,  Ramon Bautista, Tuesday Vargas; film directors Maryo J de los Reyes, Cathy Molina-Garcia, Lauren Dyogi, Jerry Sineneng; Inquirer’s Margie Quimpo-Espino, Chelo Banal-Formoso, Tina Dumlao, Jun Engracia, Abel Ulanday; Newsbreak’s Maritess Vitug; Philippine Star’s Millet Martinez-Mananquil, Amy Pamintuan, Romel and Tanya Lara;  Manila Bulletin’s Arnel Patawaran; radio deejay Chico Garcia; advertising honchos Yoly Villanueva-Ong, Raul Castro, and  countless more.


In March 2013, the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) designated the University of the Philippines Diliman as Centers of Excellence for Journalism and Broadcasting. These two new centers add up to three from UP CMC with Communication Research designated in December 2012 as a Center of Excellence in Communication.

UP CMC also renders the annual UP Gawad Plaridel, the University’s highest award for an outstanding media practitioner whose achievements shaped Philippine mass media toward making it responsive, responsible, and socially relevant. Actress Nora Aunor is this year’s Gawad Plaridel awardee.

‘’As the College celebrates its 50th year or golden anniversary in 2015, we hope to continue and strengthen the tradition of honor and excellence in communication and media education in the country,’’ says UP CMC Dean Roland B. Tolentino, Ph.D.

The UP CMCAA is headed by its president  Malou Choa Fagar; Tessa Jazmines, VP for Internal Affairs; Joey P. Reyes, VP for External Affairs; Rica D. Abad, board secretary Claro P. Fernandez, treasurer;  Ivy Lisa F. Mendoza, assistant treasurer; Jingjing Romero, P.R.O.; Alex Arellano,  Veronica Baluyot; Georgina Banzon; Emily Barcelon; Vincent Dy Buncio, Maryo J. De Los Reyes; Gina D. Lumauig; Anna A. Velasco, board members.

For details, call 920-6864 / 928-3188 or 981-8500 loc. 2668 or email us at

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: college of mass communication, homecoming, pep, University of the Philippines
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2019 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.