55 writers top this year’s edition of Palanca Awards

/ 03:51 AM September 04, 2011

The winners of the 61st Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature (Palanca Awards), the country’s most prestigious and most enduring literary awards, were honored by the Carlos Palanca Foundation at The Peninsula Manila in Makati on Thursday night.

Of the total 1,160 entries this year, 58 literary works submitted by 55 writers were selected.


Almost half or  44 percent of the writers were first-time winners.

Noteworthy was the participation of young writers aged 18 and under, particularly in the Kabataan Essay division. The Palanca Awards received 65 submissions in the division, a 109–percent increase over last year.


The Awards also opened the Novel category this year, gathering a record-breaking submission of 57 entries for both English and Filipino, an increase of 84 percent from 2008. The Novel category is open every three years.

Francisco Sionil José, the “Old Man of Philippine Letters,” was the guest of honor and Dangal ng Lahi awardee. José is a five-time Palanca winner for his short stories. This year’s grand prize winners were Allan Alberto N. Derain (Ang Banal na Aklat ng mga Kumag) in the Novel category in Filipino and Maria Victoria Soliven Blanco (In the Service of Secrets) in the English category.

Named in honor of Carlos Palanca Sr., the Awards aims to help writers to craft outstanding literary work; to be a treasury of the Philippines’ literary gems; and to assist in the works’ dissemination to the public, especially students.

Regional divisions

In the regional division, the winners for Short Story in Cebuano were:

1st–Richel G. Dorotan (Ang Tawo sa Punoan ng Nangka sa Hinablayan), 2nd–Errol A. Merquita (Isla Verde) and 3rd–Macario D. Tiu (Black Pearl).

The Short Story in Iluko winners were: 1st–Ariel S. Tabag (Saddam), 2nd–Juan A. Asuncion (Ayuno) and 3rd–Norberto D. Bumanglag Jr. (Ti Agdamdamili).


The Short Story in Hiligaynon winners were: 1st–Peter Solis Nery (Donato Bugtot), 2nd–Alice Tan Gonzales (Kahapunanon sa Laguerta ni Alberto) and 3rd–Kizza Grace F. Gardoce (Pabalon).

In the English division, the winners for Full-length Play were: 1st–Joshua L. Lim So (A Return Home), 2nd–Peter Solis Nery (If The Shoe Fits) and 3rd–Jonathan R. Guillermo (Freshmen).

The only winner for One-act Play was Floy C. Quintos (Evening at the Opera).

For Short Story, the winners were: 1st–Asterio Enrico N. Gutierrez (The Big Man), 2nd–Alexis A.L. Abola (Disappearance) and 3rd–Johannes L. Chua (Prodigal).

For Short Story for Children, the winners were: 1st–Georgina Veronica Alfar (Tom Yum), 2nd–Georgianna R. de Vera (Tatay, Through Wind and Waves) and 3rd–Benjamin Pimentel (Gagamba, the Spider from the Islands).

For Poetry, the winners were: 1st–Eliza A. Victoria (Maps), 2nd–Lourdes Marie S. La Viña (Stones and Other Poems) and 3rd–Simeon P. Dumdum Jr. (Maguindanao).

For Poetry for Children, the winners were: 1st–Cynthia Baculi-Condez (The Universe and Other Poems), 2nd–Peter Solis Nery (The Shape of Happiness) and 3rd–Kris Lanot Lacaba (The Shaggy Brown Chicken and Other Poems for Children (and for chickens of all ages).

Essay category

In the Essay category, the winners were: 1st–Jennifer Rebecca L. Ortuoste (The Turn for Home: Memories of Santa Ana Park), 2nd–Jeena Rani Marquez-Manaois (The River of Gold) and 3rd–Rosario Cruz-Lucero (The Stain of Blackberries).

For Kabataan Essay, the winners were: 1st–Mariah Cristelle F. Reodica (The Golden Mean), 2nd–Scott Lee Chua (Of Pixels and Power) and 3rd–Leo Francis F. Abot (Gods of the Internet).

In the Filipino division, the winners for Dulang Pampelikula were: 1st–Lemuel E.

Garcellano (Tru Lab), 2nd–T-Jay K. Medina (Huling Isang Taon) and 3rd–Helen V. Lasquite (Emmanuel).

Dulang Ganap ang Haba

For Dulang Ganap ang Haba, the winners were: 1st–Rodolfo Vera (Paalam Señor Soledad), 2nd–Liza Magtoto (Tamala) and 3rd–Joshua L. Lim So (Panahon ng Sampung Libong Ilong).

For Dulang May Isang Yugto, the winners were: 1st–Remi Karen M. Velasco (Ondoy: Ang Buhay sa Bubong), 2nd–Layeta P. Bucoy (El Galeon de Simeon) and 3rd–Bernardo O. Aguay Jr. (Posporo).

The winners for Kabataan Sanaysay were: 1st–Mary Amie Gelina E. Dumatol (Ang Makulit, ang Mapagtanong, at ang Mundo ng Kasagutan), 2nd–Abegail Joy Y. Lee (Nang Maging Mendiola ko ang Internet Dahil kay Mama) and 3rd–Ma. Bettina Clare N. Camacho (Isang Pindot Sa Kamalayan).

Tula winners

Winners for Tula were: 1st–Enrique S. Villasis (Agua), 2nd–Rosmon M. Tuazon (Mga Nakaw na Linya) and 3rd–Christopher B. Nuyles (Ilang Tala Hinggil sa Daangbakal at iba pang tula).

For Tulang Pambata, the winners were: 1st–Marcel L. Milliam (Ako Ang Bida), 2nd–Eugene Y. Evasco (Isang Mabalahibong Bugtong) and 3rd–John Enrico C. Torralba (Manghuhuli Ako ng Sinag ng Araw).

In the Maikling Kwento category, the only winner was  Michael S. Bernaldez (Metro Gwapo).

For Maikling Kwentong Pambata, the winners were 1st–Segundo Matias (Alamat ng Duhat), 2nd–Joachim Emilio B. Antonio (Sa Tapat ng Tindahan ni Mang Teban) and 3rd–Christian Tordecillas (Si Inda, Ang Manok at ang mga Lamang-Lupa).

For the Sanaysay category, the winners were 1st–Bernadette V. Neri (Ang Pag-uwi ng Alibughang Anak ng Lupa), 2nd–Rosario Torres-Yu (Nagbibihis na ang Nanay) and 3rd–Nancy Kimuell-Gabriel (Kubeta).

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Awards, Carlos Palanca Foundation, Literature, Palanca Awards
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2019 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.