Members of poll fraud fact-finding team named

By: - Reporter / @T2TupasINQ
/ 03:59 PM August 23, 2011

MANILA, Philippines—Justice Secretary Leila De Lima has designated the members of the fact-finding team that would gather evidence to the massive electoral fraud in the 2004 and 2007 elections.

Based on Department Order No. 675, De Lima designated Justice Assistant Secretary Zabedin M. Azis as head of the fact finding team while members include City Prosecutors Jorge Catalan Jr. and Edward Togonon and lawyers Cesar Bacani and Dante Jacinto both from the National Bureau of Investigation (NBI).


The fact-finding team shall gather and document reports, intelligence information and investigative leads from official and unofficial sources; it will also interview, record testimonies, take affidavits of witnesses, and identify offenders, offenses committed, among others.

The team has 45 days to finish its investigation.


Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: 2004 presidential elections, 2007 senatorial elections, Department of Justice, DoJ, election fraud, Government, Leila de Lima, Politics
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2019 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.