Aghon makes 8 landfalls so far, says Pagasa

Aghon makes 8 landfalls so far, says Pagasa

By: - Reporter / @FArgosinoINQ
/ 09:54 AM May 26, 2024

7,000 stranded in various seaports; local flights canceled

ADDED ROAD DANGER Residents inspect a tricycle hit by a fallen acacia tree in Legazpi City on Saturday. Three passengers were hurt. —TINE AZUELO

MANILA, Philippines —  Tropical storm Aghon has made eight landfalls in various parts of the country over the weekend, according to the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa).

In a joint press conference with the Office of the Civil Defense on Sunday, Pagasa said Aghon made its first landfall in Guiuan, Eastern Samar at around 11:20 p.m. on Friday (May 24).


Shortly after, it landed in Giporlos, Eastern Samar around 12:40 a.m. on Saturday (May 25) and Basiao Island in Catbalogan, Samar at 4 a.m.


READ: Tropical storm Aghon maintains strength as it crosses Dolores, Quezon

Below are other areas where the storm landed until Sunday morning:

4th landfall: Cagduyong Island in Catbologan, Samar (May 25 – 5 a.m.)

5th landfall: Batuan, Masbate (May 25 – 10:20 a.m.)

6th landfall: Masbate City (May 25 – 10:45 a.m.)


7th landfall: Torrijos, Marinduque (May 25 – 10 p.m.)

8th landfall: Lucena City (May 26 – 4:30 a.m.)

Earlier, Pagasa reported that Aghon’s northwestward movement slightly increased at 15 kilometers per hour (kph) with maximum sustained winds of 65 kph and gusts of up to 110 kph.

Due to its maintained strength, Pagasa said Tropical Cyclone Wind Signal (TCWS) No. 2 remains hoisted in northern and central portions of Quezon, Laguna, the eastern portion of Rizal, and Batangas.

Meanwhile, TCWS No. 1 is still up in the following areas:

The southeastern portion of Isabela (Palanan, Dinapigue)

The southern portion of Quirino (Maddela, Nagtipunan)

The southern portion of Nueva Vizcaya (Alfonso Castaneda)

The eastern and southern portions of Nueva Ecija (General Tinio, Gabaldon, Bongabon, Pantabangan, Rizal, General Mamerto Natividad, Laur, Palayan City, Peñaranda, San Leonardo, City of Gapan, Cabanatuan City, Santa Rosa, San Isidro, Cabiao, San Antonio, Jaen)


The eastern portion of Pampanga (Candaba, San Luis, San Simon, Apalit, Santa Ana, Arayat)


Metro Manila

The rest of Quezon

The rest of Rizal


The rest of Batangas

The northern portion of Oriental Mindoro (Pinamalayan, Pola, Naujan, Victoria, Socorro, City of Calapan, Bansud, Gloria, Baco, San Teodoro, Puerto Galera, Bongabong, Roxas)



Camarines Norte

Camarines Sur

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

The northern portion of Albay (Tiwi, Polangui, Malinao, Libon, Oas, City of Ligao)

Burias Island

TAGS: Aghon, PAGASA, storm

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.