Camarines Sur town execs order evacuation in high-risk areas

Camarines Sur town execs order ‘forced evacuation’ in high-risk areas

Camarines Sur

LEGAZPI CITY — Local officials in Pasacao town in Camarines Sur ordered forced evacuation of residents on Saturday, May 25, in high-risk areas due to the threat of Tropical Depression Aghon.

The Municipal Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Office said village officials started to evacuate some residents in the villages of Odicon, San Cirilo, Santa Rosa Del Norte, and Santa Rosa Del Sur, areas prone to flooding, landslides, and storm surges.


Alexis Ruivivar of the Philippine Atmospheric Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa) Southern Luzon said as of 10:22 a.m., Aghon was located in the vicinity of coastal waters between Masbate and Sorsogon and expected to be over the coastal waters of Pasacao around 3 to 5 p.m.


READ: Landslides threaten 1,128 Bicol villages as Aghon approaches

“If Aghon maintains its speed and track, it will move towards the coastal waters of Pasacao this afternoon,” Ruivivar said in a phone interview on Saturday.

In Albay, Gov. Edcel Greco Lagman ordered local disaster officials to prepare their constituents for possible evacuation once the situation worsens.

Lagman said in an advisory that small to medium seacrafts were prohibited from sailing, while residents were told to avoid river crossing and swimming due to possible flash floods and overflowing of water.

Pagasa Southern Luzon raised the orange rainfall warning at 8:45 a.m. in Sorsogon and Albay and yellow warning in Masbate, while other areas would experience moderate to heavy rains in Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Catanduanes, Romblon, Marinduque, and Oriental Mindoro.

In the 8 a.m. bulletin, Pagasa hoisted Tropical Cyclone Wind Signal no. 1 in Aurora, Polillo Islands, the northern and southeastern portion of Quezon (Calauag, Guinayangan, Lopez, Buenavista, Catanauan, Mulanay, San Narciso, San Francisco, San Andres, Tagkawayan, Gumaca, Quezon, Alabat, Perez, Plaridel, Pitogo, Macalelon, General Luna, Atimonan, Unisan, Mauban, Real, Infanta, General Nakar, Padre Burgos, Agdangan), the eastern portion of Romblon (Cajidiocan, Magdiwang, San Fernando, Romblon), the eastern portion of Marinduque (Santa Cruz, Torrijos), Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Catanduanes, Albay, Sorsogon, and Masbate including Burias and Ticao Islands, Northern Samar, Samar, Eastern Samar, Biliran, the northern portion of Leyte (Tunga, Pastrana, San Miguel, Matag-Ob, Tolosa, Palo, Calubian, Leyte, Mayorga, Julita, Carigara, Babatngon, Dagami, Jaro, San Isidro, Santa Fe, Albuera, Villaba, La Paz, Palompon, Tabontabon, Tanauan, Merida, Ormoc City, Isabel, Dulag, Capoocan, Alangalang, Burauen, Tabango, Tacloban City, Kananga, Barugo), and the extreme northern portion of Cebu (San Remigio, Tabogon, City of Bogo, Medellin, Daanbantayan, Borbon) including Camotes and Bantayan Islands.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: Camarines Sur, Evacuations

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.