Signal No. 1 in 18 areas as 'Aghon' maintains strength

Signal No. 1 in 18 areas as ‘Aghon’ maintains strength

/ 05:45 AM May 25, 2024

MANILA, Philippines – Tropical Cyclone Wind Signal (TCWS) number 1 is up over 18 areas nationwide as Tropical  Depression Aghon maintained its strength while swirling over the coastal waters of Catbalogan City, Samar, the state weather bureau said early Saturday morning.

The Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa), in its 5:00 a.m. bulletin, reported that “Aghon” was packing maximum sustained winds of 55 kilometers per hour (kph) near the center, gustiness of  up to 70 kph while moving northwest at 30 kph.


Rainfall warning

Rains and strong winds are expected in areas under TCWS No. 1, according to Pagasa.


Landslides and flash floods are also possible.

Rough seas alert!

“Aghon will bring moderate to rough seas (1.5 to 3.5 m) over the coastal waters along the seaboards of Bicol Region, the southern seaboard of Quezon, the eastern seaboard of Eastern Visayas, the western seaboard of Samar and Northern Samar, and the eastern seaboard of Caraga Region,” Pagasa said.

“Mariners of motor bancas and similarly-sized vessels are advised to take precautionary measures while venturing out to sea and, if possible, avoid navigating in these conditions, especially if inexperienced or operating ill-equipped vessels,’ it added.

Tracking Aghon

“Aghon”, Pagasa said, is forecast to move northwest over the Samar Sea and cross the Bicol Peninsula Saturday afternoon and tomorrow early morning.

“It is forecast to emerge over the waters north of Camarines provinces by tomorrow morning. During this period, Aghon may reach tropical storm category,” Pagasa said.

“Around tomorrow afternoon, Aghon will begin its recurvature towards the northeast. As it moves over the Philippine Sea, the tropical cyclone is forecast to continuously intensify and may reach typhoon category on Tuesday. On the track forecast, Aghon may exit the PAR region no earlier than Tuesday,” added Pagasa.


Areas under TCWS No. 1


-Northern portion of Aurora (Casiguran, Dilasag)

-Polillo Islands

– Southern portion of Quezon (Calauag, Guinayangan, Lopez, Buenavista, Catanauan, Mulanay, San Narciso, San Francisco, San Andres, Tagkawayan, Gumaca, Quezon, Alabat, Perez, Plaridel, Pitogo, Macalelon, General Luna, Atimonan, Unisan)

-Eastern portion of Romblon (Cajidiocan, Magdiwang, San Fernando)

-Camarines Norte

-Camarines Sur




-Masbate including Burias and Ticao Islands


-Northern Samar


-Eastern Samar



-Southern Leyte

-Extreme northern portion of Cebu (San Remigio, Tabogon, City of Bogo, Medellin, Daanbantayan, Borbon) including Camotes and Bantayan Islands

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.


-Dinagat Islands

TAGS: PAGASA, Tropical Depression

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.