Inquirer wins anew at Stallion media awards

Inquirer wins anew at Stallion media awards

/ 05:40 AM February 18, 2024

Inquirer wins anew at Stallion media awards

TOP PRINT PLATFORM Inquirer AVP for corporate affairs Connie Kalagayan accepts the Platinum Stallion trophy at the awards ceremony on Feb. 15. With her are officials of the Trinity University of Asia led by (from left) Vice President for Academic Affairs Howell Ho, University Research and Development Center director Maria Antonia Capili, and College of Business Management and Accountancy dean Maria Ulgado-Rosas. —EUGENE ARANETA

For the fourth year in a row, the Philippine Daily Inquirer (PDI) was named best national broadsheet at the Platinum Stallion National Media Awards given by the Trinity University of Asia (TUA).

Now in its ninth year, the Stallion recognizes outstanding individuals, programs and organizations in the print, TV, radio and online media, and covers works in journalism, public service and entertainment.


“This recognition is an affirmation that the Inquirer was able to inspire and make an impact on students and educators,” said Inquirer assistant vice president Connie Kalagayan as she received the trophy on PDI’s behalf at the awards ceremony held on Thursday.


Making voices heard

“We are very grateful and honored to win this award.”

“We have always advocated youth empowerment and I’m proud that we have made their voices heard. The Inquirer remains steadfast in providing accurate, credible, ethical and timely reporting. We will continue to write compelling stories that will spark change and action, and we encourage these young people to share and write their own stories so they also can inspire and others will learn.”

The Stallion winners are chosen based on a survey conducted among the various stakeholders of the Quezon City-based university.

These include students, faculty members, administrative officers and staff, maintenance and security personnel, and a number of parents, according to Walter Yudelmo, academic head of TUA’s Media and Communication Department. In all, about 2,000 people took part in the survey.

Other awardees

“The media is an institution who helps us develop creative and critical thinking,” Yudelmo said. “We acknowledge the different contributions of media [practitioners] to our Trinitian community learning.”

READ: Inquirer reporters win in 32nd Ejap Business Journalism Awards


In journalism and public affairs, the other major awardees this year are GMA Network (TV Station of the Year), dzBB (AM Radio), ABS-CBN (Digital Media), GMA’s “24 Oras” (Best TV News Program), GMA’s Atom Araullo (Male News Anchor), GMA’s Vicky Morales (Female News Anchor), GMA’s “Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho” (News Magazine Program);

ABS-CBN Lingkod Kapamilya (Public Service Program); GMA’s Emil Sumangil (Public Service Program Host); GMA’s “Reporter’s Notebook” (Documentary TV Show); PTV’s “Rise and Shine Pilipinas” (Citation—Morning News Program of the Year) and PTV’s Public Eye (Citation—Citation for Documentary Program of the Year).

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: award, Inquirer, Media

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.