Pagasa: Typhoon Egay makes landfall in Aparri, Cagayan | Inquirer News

Pagasa: Typhoon Egay makes landfall in Aparri, Cagayan

By: - Reporter / @FArgosinoINQ
/ 07:07 AM July 26, 2023

MANILA, Philippines — Egay (international name: Doksuri), which has weakened into a typhoon, made landfall over Fuga Island in Aparri, Cagayan, around 3:10 a.m. on Wednesday, the state weather bureau said.

In its 5 a.m. weather bulletin, the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical, and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa) said, Egay might also make another landfall over northwestern Cagayan as it moves westward at a speed of 20 kilometers per hour (kph).


Egay was packing maximum sustained winds of 175 kph near the center and gusts of up to 240 kph, Pagasa added.


READ: Super Typhoon Egay pummels Northern Luzon

Due to the typhoon’s strong winds and rains, Pagasa raised wind signals over the following areas:

TCWS No. 4

  • The northern portion of Cagayan (Santa Ana, Gonzaga, Claveria, Sanchez-Mira, Pamplona, Abulug, Ballesteros, Aparri, Buguey, Santa Teresita, Camalaniugan, Santa Praxedes), including the Babuyan Islands
  • The northern portion of Apayao (Calanasan, Luna, Santa Marcela)
  • The northern part of Ilocos Norte (Burgos, Bangui, Dumalneg, Pagudpud, Adams, Pasuquin, Vintar, Bacarra)

TCWS No. 3

  • Batanes
  • The rest of Cagayan
  • The rest of Apayao
  • The northern portion of Kalinga (Rizal, Pinukpuk, Balbalan)
  • The northern part of Abra (Tineg, Lagayan, Lacub, Danglas, Bangued, La Paz, San Juan, Dolores, Tayum, Lagangilang, Malibcong, Licuan-Baay, Peñarrubia, Pidigan, Langiden, San Quintin, Bucay, San Isidro, Sallapadan)
  • The rest of Ilocos Norte and the northern portion of Ilocos Sur (Magsingal, San Juan, Cabugao, Sinait, San Vicente, Santo Domingo, San Ildefonso, Bantay, Santa Catalina, City of Vigan, Caoayan, Santa, Nagbukel, Narvacan)

READ: LIVE UPDATES: Super Typhoon Egay

TCWS No. 2

  • Isabela
  • The rest of Kalinga
  • Mountain Province
  • Ifugao
  • Benguet
  • The rest of Abra
  • The rest of Ilocos Sur
  • La Union

TCWS No. 1

  • Metro Manila
  • Aurora
  • Quirino
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Pangasinan
  • Nueva Ecija
  • Tarlac
  • Pampanga
  • Bulacan
  • Zambales
  • Bataan
  • Rizal
  • Cavite
  • Laguna
  • The northern portion of Batangas (Talisay, City of Tanauan, Santo Tomas, Balete, Malvar, Lipa City)
  • The northern and central portion of Quezon (Pitogo, Calauag, Infanta, Lopez, Guinayangan, Unisan, Plaridel, Quezon, Alabat, Padre Burgos, Mauban, General Nakar, Perez, Agdangan, Gumaca, Atimonan, Real, Tagkawayan, Lucena City, Pagbilao, Lucban, Sampaloc, City of Tayabas, Dolores, Sariaya, Candelaria, Tiaong, San Antonio) including Polillo Islands
  • Camarines Norte
  • The northern portion of Camarines Sur (Siruma, Tinambac, Goa, Lagonoy, Caramoan, Cabusao, Sipocot, Garchitorena, Ragay, Del Gallego, Calabanga, Presentacion, Lupi)
  • The northern portion of Catanduanes (Pandan, Bagamanoc, Panganiban, Viga, Caramoran)

Pagasa said Egay is forecast to further weaken by the end of the week and exit the Philippine area of responsibility (PAR) by Thursday morning.

It also said that Egay will traverse the Taiwan Strait outside the PAR region and make landfall in the vicinity of Fujian, China, by Friday morning.


Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Babuyan Islands no longer under Signal No. 5 as Egay moves on

11 regions feel impact of Egay

TAGS: Egay, PAGASA, Typhoon, Weather

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.