Super Typhoon Egay keeps strength; Signal No. 5 up on Babuyan's Camiguin Island | Inquirer News

Super Typhoon Egay keeps strength; Signal No. 5 up on Babuyan’s Camiguin Island

By: - Reporter / @FArgosinoINQ
/ 02:34 PM July 25, 2023

Super Typhoon Egay keeps strength as Signal No. 5 was raised over Babuyan's Camiguin Island

Due to Super Typhoon Egay (international name: Doksuri), tropical Cyclone Wind Signals. Photo from Pagasa’s website

MANILA, Philippines — Camiguin, one of the five big islands of Babuyan, was placed under Tropical Cyclone Wind Signal (TCWS) No. 5 on Tuesday afternoon as Super Typhoon Egay (international name: Doksuri) maintained its strength while crossing the Philippine Sea.

The Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa) said in its 2 p.m. cyclone update that Egay was moving northwestward at 20 kilometers per hour (kph) as it was last spotted 230 kilometers east-northeast Cagayan province’s Tuguegarao City.


Egay was packing maximum sustained winds of 180 kph and gustiness of up to 230 kph, according to state meteorologists.


READ: LIVE UPDATES: Super Typhoon Egay

Egay’s strong winds and rain also made Pagasa hoist TCWS No. 4 over the northeastern part of mainland Cagayan (Santa Ana and Gonzaga) and the rest of Babuyan Islands – Babuyan Island, Calayan Island, Fuga Island, and Dalupiri Island.

TCWS No. 3, on the other hand, remained over the following areas:

  • The northeastern portion of Isabela (Divilacan, Maconacon, Palanan, Santa Maria, San Pablo, Santo Tomas, Cabagan, Tumauini)
  • The rest of Cagayan, Apayao, the eastern portion of Ilocos Norte (Vintar, Adams, Pagudpud, Dumalneg, Nueva Era, Carasi, Bangui, Piddig, Solsona)
  • The northeastern part of Kalinga (Rizal, Pinukpuk)
  • Batanes

Meanwhile, TCWS No. 2 was raised over:

  • The rest of Isabela, northern and central portions of Aurora (Dilasag, Casiguran, Dinalungan, Dipaculao)
  • Quirino
  • The rest of Kalinga
  • The northeastern part of Nueva Vizcaya (Kasibu, Quezon, Diadi, Bagabag, Ambaguio, Villaverde, Solano, Bayombong)
  • The rest of Ilocos Norte
  • Ilocos Sur
  • Abra
  • Mountain Province
  • Ifugao
  • Northern portion of Benguet (Bakun, Mankayan, Buguias, Kabayan, Kibungan, Atok)
  • The northern part of La Union (Bangar, Sudipen, Luna, Balaoan, Santol)

Pagasa likewise placed under TCWS No. 1 the following areas:

  • Metro Manila
  • Quezon, including Pollilo Islands
  • The rest of Aurora
  • The rest of Nueva Vizcaya
  • The rest of Benguet
  • The rest of La Union
  • Nueva Ecija
  • Pangasinan
  • Tarlac
  • Zambales
  • Bulacan
  • Pampanga
  • Bataan
  • Marinduque
  • Cavite
  • Rizal
  • Laguna
  • Batangas
  • Camarines Norte
  • Camarines Sur
  • Albay
  • Catanduanes

The state weather service said Egay is forecast to hit or pass very close to the Babuyan Islands-northeastern mainland Cagayan area today (July 25) or early morning Wednesday.


It added that the super typhoon is expected to exit the Philippine area of responsibility by Thursday morning and will make landfall in the vicinity of Fujian, China, on Friday morning.


Parts of Cagayan under Signal No. 4 due to Super Typhoon Egay; winds up to 184 kph possible

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

11 regions feel impact of Egay

TAGS: Egay, Philippines, super typhoon, Weather

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.