Pagasa: ‘Karding’ now a super typhoon; Signal No. 4 in Quezon island | Inquirer News

Pagasa: ‘Karding’ now a super typhoon; Signal No. 4 in Quezon island

/ 09:04 AM September 25, 2022

Pagasa weather map sept. 25, 2022
MANILA, Philippines — Typhoon Karding (international name: Noru) has intensified further into a super typhoon Sunday morning after a rapid intensification, prompting state meteorologists to raise Tropical Cyclone Wind Signal No. 4 over Polilio Island in Quezon and Signal no. 3 in eight other areas in. Luzon.

In its 8 am advisory, the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa) said “Karding” reached super typhoon category at 5:00 a.m.  after a period of explosive intensification of 90 kilometers per hour (kph) in 24 hours.


“It is forecast to continue intensifying and may make landfall at or near a peak intensity of 185-205 [kph],” Pagasa said.

The center of the eye of “Karding” was spotted some 230 kilometer east of Infanta, Quezon, packing maximum sustained winds of 185 kilometers per hour (kph) near the center with gustiness of up to 230 kph.


“Karding” will likely make landfall in the vicinity of the northern portion of Quezon or the southern portion of Aurora  on Sunday night, but Pagasa did not rule out the possibility of an afternoon landfall or close approach in the vicinity of Polillo Islands.

Pagasa added that raising TCWS No. 5, the highest wind signal, is possible in some areas.


TCWS No. 4:

  • Polilio Island

Signal No. 3:

  • The central and southern portions of Aurora (Dingalan, San Luis, Baler, Maria Aurora, Dipaculao)
  • The central and southern portions of Nueva Ecija (Bongabon, Rizal, Llanera, Science City of Muñoz, Guimba, Cuyapo, Talugtug, Nampicuan, San Antonio, Cabiao, San Isidro, City of Gapan, Zaragoza, Jaen, Licab, Quezon, Aliaga, Santa Rosa, San Leonardo, Santo Domingo, Talavera, Cabanatuan City, General Mamerto Natividad, Palayan City, Peñaranda, General Tinio, Laur, Gabaldon)
  • Bulacan
  • The eastern portion of Pampanga (Candaba, Arayat, Santa Ana, San Luis, San Simon, Apalit)
  • The northern portion of Metro Manila (Pasig, Marikina, Quezon City, San Juan, Mandaluyong, Manila, Navotas, Malabon, Caloocan, Valenzuela)
  • The northern portion of Rizal (Rodriguez, Tanay, Baras, City of Antipolo, San Mateo, Cainta, Taytay, Angono, Teresa, Morong, Pililla)
  • The northeastern portion of Laguna (Santa Maria, Famy, Siniloan, Pangil, Mabitac, Paete, Kalayaan, Pakil)
  • Northern portion of Quezon (Infanta, Real, General Nakar, Mauban)
  • Northern portion of Camarines Norte (Vinzons, Paracale, Jose Panganiban, Capalonga)

 Signal No. 2:

  • The southern portion of Isabela (Dinapigue, San Guillermo, Echague, San Agustin, Jones)
  • Quirino
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Benguet
  • La Union
  • Pangasinan
  • Zambales
  • Bataan
  • Tarlac
  • Rest of Pampanga 
  • Rest of Nueva Ecija
  • Rest of Aurora
  • Rest of Metro Manila
  • Cavite
  • Batangas
  • Rest of Laguna
  • Rest of Rizal
  • Central part of Quezon (Calauag, Perez, Alabat, Quezon, Tagkawayan, Guinayangan, Sampaloc, Lucban, City of Tayabas, Lucena City, Pagbilao, Padre Burgos, Atimonan, Agdangan, Unisan, Plaridel, Gumaca, Lopez, Pitogo, Dolores, Candelaria, Sariaya, Tiaong, San Antonio, Macalelon, General Luna, Catanauan, Buenavista)
  • Rest of Camarines Norte
  • Northern portion of Camarines Sur (Del Gallego, Ragay, Lupi, Sipocot, Libmanan, Pamplona, Pasacao, San Fernando, Pili, Minalabac, Ocampo, Tigaon, Cabusao, Magarao, Gainza, Canaman, Camaligan, Milaor, Naga City, Bombon, Calabanga, Tinambac, Siruma, Goa, Lagonoy, San Jose, Garchitorena, Presentacion, Caramoan, Sagñay)
  • Catanduanes

Signal No. 1:

  • Southern part of Cagayan (Tuao, Solana, Enrile, Tuguegarao City, Iguig, Peñablanca)
  • Rest of Isabela
  • Southern part of Apayao (Conner)
  • Kalinga
  • Abra
  • Mountain Province
  • Ifugao
  • Southern part of Ilocos Norte (Nueva Era, Badoc, Pinili, Banna, City of Batac, Currimao, Paoay, Marcos)
  • Ilocos Sur
  • rest of Quezon
  • Northern part of Occidental Mindoro (Abra de Ilog, Paluan, Mamburao, Santa Cruz) including Lubang Islands
  • Northern portion of Oriental Mindoro (Puerto Galera, San Teodoro, Baco, City of Calapan, Naujan, Victoria, Pola, Socorro, Pinamalayan), Marinduque
  • Rest of Camarines Sur
  • Albay
  • Sorsogon
  • Burias Island
  • Ticao Island

Click here for more weather related news.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: PAGASA, Typhoon, Weather
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

© Copyright 1997-2022 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.