Bongbong Marcos appoints new Bangsamoro transition members

Marcos win worries top MORO leader

Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos, Jr. (L) appointed Moro Islamic Liberation Front chief Ahod “Al Haj Murad” Ebrahim as Interim Chief Minister of the Bangsamoro Transition Authority.

ILIGAN CITY—The Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA), the interim government of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM), has a new set of members.

Lawyer Omar Yasser Sema said the new BTA members took their oath in Malacañang Palace on Friday afternoon.

“We just took our oath,” Sema messaged the Inquirer around 2:40 p.m. on Friday, August 12.

President Ferdinand Marcos Jr. administered their oath, he added.

Leading the 80-member BTA is Ahod “Al Haj Murad” Ebrahim as Interim Chief Minister. Ebrahim, who chairs the central committee of the erstwhile revolutionary group Moro Islamic Liberation Front, held the post since President Duterte first organized the BTA in 2019.

The BTA was supposed to have ended its institutional life last June 30, but Congress extended it to 2025 by postponing the regional elections scheduled last May, to give time for transition measures to be completed.


Hataman urges Marcos to appoint BTA members based on merit, competence