Cagayan's political clans to rule 13 towns | Inquirer News

Cagayan’s political clans to rule 13 towns

By: - Correspondent / @VillVisayaJrINQ
/ 10:37 AM May 12, 2022

Cagayan's political clans to rule 13 towns

The board of canvassers proclaim on May 11 Gov.-elect Manuel Mamba of Cagayan province.(Photo courtesy of Cagayan PIO)

TUGUEGARAO CITY––At least 13 towns in Cagayan province will be governed in the next three years by local leaders who are either husbands and wives, fathers and their children, siblings, or members of a dominant political clan who dominated the recently concluded local elections.

In Solana town, Mayor Jennalyn Carag and her husband, Vice Mayor Meynard Carag, won their reelection bids.


Jennalyn received 36,011 votes against her lone opponent, Ricardo Capalungan, who got 982 votes, while Meynard was unopposed and got 31,651 votes.


In Allacapan, Mayor Harry Florida and his wife Yvonne, the vice mayor, had no rivals in their reelection bids, but still got over 13,000 votes each.

The husband-and-wife tandem of Mayor Vincent Unite and Vice Mayor Violeta Unite of Ballesteros town edged out their opponents to emerge the winners.

In Peñablanca town, Mayor Washington Taguinod and wife Vice Mayor Marilyn Taguinod got another term.

In Lal-lo, returning Mayor Florante Pascual won alongside his running mate-wife, Olive, an outgoing provincial board member. Their son, outgoing Mayor Oliver Pascual, won a seat on the provincial board.

In Iguig, reelectionist couple Ferdinand and Juditas Trinidad won handily over opponents for mayor and vice mayor, respectively.


In Rizal town, returning mayor Joel Ruma also won with his wife, Mayor Brenda Ruma, who slid down as vice mayor.


In Buguey, brothers Cerry and Lloyd Antiporda won as mayor and vice mayor, respectively. Three-termer Lloyd switched posts with Cerry.

Tuao will also see in June the same officials because Francisco Mamba Jr., the mayor, and brother William, the vice mayor, just switched places and won by a landslide.

Lawyer Cristina Antonio won anew as Alcala mayor while her stepmother, Digna Puzon-Antonio (former Gov. Alvaro Antonio’s second wife) won as Pamplona mayor.

Cagayan Rep. Ramon Nolasco Jr. was reelected after defeating Juan Ponce Enrile’s daughter, Katrina, and Roberto Damian in the first district while his brother, Mayor Matthew Nolasco, won as Gattaran vice mayor.

In Santo Niño town, Mayor Vicente Pagurayan was reelected, along with his son, Andrew Vincent, as his vice mayor.

Gov. Manuel Mamba won his third consecutive term over Zarah Lara. But Mamba’s wife, Mabel, lost to reelectionist Third District Rep. Joseph Lara, the husband of Zarah.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Vice Gov. Melvin Vargas Jr. was also reelected, while his uncle, Manuel Vargas won unopposed as mayor in Abulug. Manuel’s son, incumbent Mayor Jeff Vargas, won as vice mayor, also unopposed.



Mamba elected Cagayan gov for 3rd term 

Katrina Enrile backs Mamba for Cagayan governor despite longtime political feud

TAGS: Cagayan province, local leaders, winners

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.