1,800 individuals evacuated in Marinduque, Romblon as 'Jolina' dumps rains | Inquirer News

1,800 individuals evacuated in Marinduque, Romblon as ‘Jolina’ dumps rains

By: - Correspondent / @mvirolaINQ
/ 04:30 PM September 08, 2021

CITY OF CALAPAN––At least 1,800 individuals were evacuated Wednesday in Marinduque and Romblon provinces as Severe Tropical Storm “Jolina” (International name: Conson) continued to plow through Luzon, a report from the Mimaropa (Mindoro, Marinduque, Romblon, Palawan) police said.

As of 7 a.m., at least 574 families were evacuated to 85 centers in Marinduque and 11 families in Romblon. Of the 1,879 individuals evacuated, 1,839 were in Marinduque and 40 were in Romblon.

Four ships were stranded in Oriental Mindoro, while 148 vehicles were stranded in Oriental Mindoro (141) and Marinduque (7).


Authorities said stranded individuals totaled 269 in Oriental Mindoro (254) and Marinduque (15).


As of 1 p.m., “Jolina” was located at San Nicolas, Batangas, and was heading towards Cavite, the state weather bureau said.

Tropical cyclone wind signal no. 1 is hoisted over the northern and central portions of Oriental Mindoro (Bansud, Gloria, Pinamalayan, Pola, Socorro, Victoria, Puerto Galera, San Teodoro, Baco, City of Calapan, Naujan), the northern and central portions of Occidental Mindoro (Abra de Ilog, Paluan, Mamburao, Santa Cruz, Sablayan) including Lubang Islands, The central portion of Quezon (Infanta, Real, Mauban, Sampaloc, Lucban, City of Tayabas, Lucena City, Sariaya, Candelaria, Dolores, Tiaong, San Antonio, Pagbilao), Batangas, Cavite, Laguna, Rizal, Metro Manila, the southern portion of Bulacan (Pandi, Bulacan, Marilao, Calumpit, Norzagaray, Plaridel, Santa Maria, Balagtas, Bocaue, Bustos, City of Malolos, Angat, Obando, City of San Jose del Monte, Pulilan, City of Meycauayan, Hagonoy, Paombong, Guiguinto, San Rafael, Baliuag), Pampanga, Bataan, Zambales, and Tarlac.

Signal no. 2 prevails over Marinduque, La Union, the southern portion of Benguet (Sablan, Tublay, Bokod, La Trinidad, Baguio City, Itogon, Tuba, Kapangan, Atok), the southern portion of Nueva Vizcaya (Alfonso Castaneda, Dupax del Norte, Dupax del Sur, Aritao, Santa Fe, Kayapa), the southern portion of Aurora (Baler, Maria Aurora, San Luis, Dingalan), Pangasinan, Nueva Ecija, the rest of Bulacan, The northern and southern portions of Quezon (Padre Burgos, Agdangan, Unisan, Gumaca, Atimonan, Plaridel, Pitogo, Macalelon, Quezon, Alabat, Perez, General Nakar), including Polillo Islands, the rest of Oriental Mindoro, and the rest of Occidental Mindoro.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: Conson, Evacuation, Luzon, Marinduque, Mimaropa, Mindoro, Palawan, Police, Regions, romblon, Weather

© Copyright 1997-2024 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.