European Union: from six to 27 | Inquirer News

European Union: from six to 27

/ 01:00 PM January 04, 2021

PARIS — For more than six decades, the European Union has expanded to encompass 28 member countries, and Britain’s departure marked its first contraction.

Here is a timeline:

— 1957: Six countries — Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands — sign the Treaty of Rome establishing the European Economic Community (EEC), the precursor to the EU.


— 1973: Britain, Denmark and Ireland join the bloc, taking the number of members to nine.


— 1981: Greece becomes the 10th member.

— 1986: Portugal and Spain join.

— 1995: Austria, Finland and Sweden enter what has evolved into the EU, which now has 15 members. Norway rejects accession in a referendum.

— 2004: Eight ex-communist Eastern European countries and two Mediterranean nations join: Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia. The bloc swells to 25 members.

— 2007: Bulgaria and Romania take the EU to 27 member nations.

— 2013: Croatia becomes the 28th.


— 2020: Britain becomes the first member state to leave the EU, after a seismic 2016 referendum vote to quit the bloc. It finally leaves the bloc’s single market and customs union on the last day of 2020.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: Brexit, Britain, Politics

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.