More Cayetano allies lose key posts as House leadership revamp continues | Inquirer News

More Cayetano allies lose key posts as House leadership revamp continues

/ 08:00 PM November 18, 2020

MANILA, Philippines — More than a month after the speakership change, the House leadership revamp continued Wednesday with more allies of former Speaker Alan Peter Cayetano axed from their posts.

Just as Wednesday’s House session was about to be adjourned, Deputy Majority Leader Xavier Jesus Romualdo made a motion to elect Cagayan de Oro City 2nd District Rep. Rufus Rodriguez, Buhay Partylist Rep. Lito Atienza, and Las Piñas City Rep. Camille Villar as deputy speakers. The motion was approved.

The three lawmakers replaced Capiz 2nd District Rep. Fredenil Castro, Laguna 1st District Rep. Dan Fernandez, and Batangas 2nd District Rep. Raneo Abu who are known allies of Cayetano.


Caloocan 1st District Rep. Dale Malapitan also replaced Kabayan Partylist Rep. Ron Salo as the head of the House contingent to the House of Representatives Electoral Tribunal (HRET).


Meanwhile, Pampanga 2nd District Rep. Juan Miguel Macapagal Arroyo took over Velasco’s vacated post as chairperson of the House committee on energy.

Other leadership changes include ACT CIS Partylist Rep. Eric Yap’s election as vice chairperson of the House committee on accounts where presidential son Davao City 1st District Rep. Paolo Duterte was elected as chairperson.

This was not the first time that a shake-up in House leadership happened following the ouster of Cayetano from the Speakership post in October.

First to take a hit was Camarines Sur 2nd Dist. Rep. Luis Raymund Villafuerte Jr., one of the most vocal allies of Cayetano, who was stripped off his deputy speakership post merely a day into Velasco’s stint as the new speaker of the House.

Villafuerte was replaced by 1-PACMAN Party-list Rep. Mikee Romero, who Cayetano previously removed as deputy speaker at the height of the speakership row.

Other Velasco allies who were earlier elected to leadership posts were Oriental Mindoro 1st Dis. Rep. Doy Leachon as senior deputy speaker and Quezon 4th District Rep. Angelina Helen Tan who regained her post as chairperson of the House committee on health.


Ilocos Sur 2nd District Rep. Kristine Singson-Meehan was also elected earlier as vice chair of the House committee on accounts.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.


© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.