LSIs from NCR barred from entering Basilan, Lanao Sur, Camiguin — police

By: - Reporter / @CMarquezINQ
/ 03:45 PM July 07, 2020

MANILA, Philippines — Stranded individuals coming from the National Capital Region are not allowed to enter Basilan, Lanao del Sur and Camiguin for 15 days, chief of the police task force for COVID-19 efforts said Tuesday.

Police Lt. Gen. Guillermo Eleazar, chief of Joint Task Force COVID Shield, said he ordered all police commanders in Metro Manila to temporarily halt the issuance of travel passes going to the said three provinces starting July 1.


“Based on the approval of the National Task Force COVID-19, the suspension of repatriation for these provinces is for 15 days beginning July 1,” Eleazar said in a statement.

Eleazar said the suspension was made after Defense Secretary Delfin Lorenzana, who is also the overall head of NTF COVID-19, approved requests of the concerned local government units to stop the repatriation of locally stranded individuals from Metro Manila.


Request for suspension of travel authority was mostly due to lack of quarantine centers in areas, Eleazar added.

Coronavirus disease cases in the Philippines ballooned to 46,333, with 12,185 recoveries and 1,303 deaths.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Basilan, Camiguin, Guillermo Eleazar, JTF COVID Shield, Lanao del Sur, Nation, travel pass
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.