19 of 87 STL operations to reopen after ban

One week after President Duterte lifted the ban on small town lottery (STL), only 19 STL corporations have complied with the stringent conditions set for them to reopen, Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office (PCSO) general manager Royina Garma said on Thursday.

In a press conference, Garma said the PCSO had collected P1.044 billion from the 19 authorized agent corporations (AACs), the cash bond equivalent to three months of PCSO’s share of their earnings, one of the conditions for their reopening.


The compliant AACs will be allowed to operate anew once Mr. Duterte signs the new implementing rules and regulations, Garma said.

The areas with compliant AACs are the cities of Lapu-Lapu, Santiago, Bacolod, Angeles and Olongapo, and the provinces of Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Nueva Vizcaya, Negros Occidental, Compostela Valley, Nueva Ecija, Bulacan, Pampanga, Bataan, Sorsogon, Ilocos Norte, Tarlac, Davao del Norte and Zambales.


Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: PCSO, Royina Garma, STL ban
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.