IN THE KNOW: National scientist | Inquirer News

IN THE KNOW: National scientist

/ 06:35 AM August 09, 2019

Since 1978, Malacañang has conferred the rank and title of national scientist on 42 Filipinos, including this year’s honoree, Emil Javier.

The title, created under Presidential Decree No. 1003-A issued in 1976, is the highest honor given by the President to a Filipino man or woman who has made significant contributions in one of the fields of science and technology.

The decree defines a scientist as someone who has earned a doctoral degree in any field of the sciences in an accredited university, and has demonstrated and earned distinction in independent research or significant innovative achievement in the basic and applied sciences as manifested by his or her published works in recognized scientific and technical journals.


It also states that “in highly meritorious and extremely exceptional cases, the … doctoral degree requirement may be waived.”


National scientists are selected based on the annual recommendation from the National Academy of Science and Technology, the highest recognition and advisory body on science and technology.

Aside from Javier, the title has been conferred on:

  •  Juan S. Salcedo Jr. (nutrition and public health)
  •  Alfredo C. Santos (physical chemistry)
  •  Gregorio Y. Zara (engineering and inventions)
  •  Fe del Mundo (pediatrics)
  •  Eduardo A. Quisumbing (plant taxonomy, systematics and morphology)
  •  Geminiano T. de Ocampo (ophthalmology)
  •  Casimiro V. del Rosario (physics, astronomy and meteorology)
  •  Gregorio T. Velasquez (phycology)
  •  Francisco M. Fronda (animal husbandry)
  •  Francisco O. Santos (human nutrition and agricultural chemistry)
  •  Carmen C. Velasquez (parasitology)
  •  Teodoro A. Agoncillo (Philippine history)
  •  Encarnacion A. Alzona (Philippine history)
  •  Hilario D. G. Lara (public health)
  •  Julian A. Banzon (chemistry)
  •  Dioscoro L. Umali (agriculture and rural development)
  •  Luz Oliveros-Belardo (phytochemistry)
  •  Jose Encarnacion Jr. (economics)
  •  Alfredo V. Lagmay (experimental psychology)
  •  Paolo C. Campos (nuclear medicine)
  •  Pedro B. Escuro (genetics and plant breeding)
  •  Clara Y. Lim-Sylianco (biochemistry and organic chemistry)
  •  Dolores A. Ramirez (biochemical genetics and cytogenetics)
  •  Jose R. Velasco (plant physiology)
  •  Gelia T. Castillo (rural sociology)
  •  Bienvenido O. Juliano (organic chemistry)
  •  Clare R. Baltazar (systematic entomology)
  •  Benito S. Vergara (plant physiology)
  •  Onofre D. Corpuz (political economics and government)
  •  Ricardo M. Lantican (plant breeding)
  •  Lourdes J. Cruz (marine biology)
  •  Teodulo M. Topacio (veterinary medicine)
  •  Mercedes B. Concepcion (demography)
  •  Ernesto O. Domingo (infectious diseases)
  •  Perla D. Santos-Ocampo (pediatrics)
  •  Raul V. Fabella (economics)
  •  Bienvenido F. Nebres (mathematics)
  •  Angel C. Alcala (biological sciences)
  •  Ramon C. Barba (horticulture)
  •  Gavino C. Trono (marine biology)
  •  Edgardo D. Gomez (marine biology)

Sources: Inquirer Archives, Official Gazette

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: Malacañang

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.