Sugar producers back reelection of 5 senators

/ 07:14 AM March 10, 2019

A group of sugar producers endorsed five reelectionist senators for supporting the group’s fight against deregulating sugar importation.

Raymond Montinola, spokesperson for the Confederation of Sugar Producers Associations Inc., said sugar industry leaders, millers, farmers and workers agreed to vote for Senators Cynthia Villar, Sonny Angara, Aquilino Pimentel III, Nancy Binay and Joseph Ejercito.


Sugar industry federations in 28 provinces in Luzon, the Visayas and Mindanao made the commitment, according to Montinola.


“We are fully supporting the five senators considered our champions this coming election,” he said.

The five, tagged by Montinola as sugar industry champions, backed a resolution opposing the planned liberalization of the sugar industry.

Other senators which supported it were Sherwin Gatchalian, Richard Gordon, Loren Legarda, Joel Villanueva and Miguel Zubiri.

The senators also supported the doubling of taxes on high-fructose corn syrup which could lower sugar prices.

See the bigger picture with the Inquirer's live in-depth coverage of the election here

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: 2019 elections, 2019 senatorial candidates, Aquilino Pimentel III, Confederation of Sugar Producers Associationsa Inc., Cynthia Villar, Joseph Ejercito, Nancy Binay, Sonny Angara, sugar producers
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2019 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.