Albayalde, Eleazar, lead 2019 PMA Cavalier Award recipients

/ 11:25 AM February 16, 2019

FORT DEL PILAR, Baguio City, Philippines — Philippine National Police (PNP) chief Director General Oscar Albayalde and National Capital Region Police Office (NCRPO) Director Guillermo Eleazar were among 11 alumni of the Philippine Military Academy (PMA) who received the Cavalier Award the during the PMA’s annual alumni gathering on Saturday.

The Cavalier Award is the highest recognition given to a PMA alumnus or alumna with outstanding achievements in their respective fields.


According to the PMA, Albayalde (PMA Class 1986) was cited for his command and administration of as head of the National Capital Region Police Office (NCRPO) and for his drive to cleanse the ranks of the PNP as its head.

“As Metro Manila’s Top Cop, PDG Albayalde strictly implemented practical programs for crime prevention and suppression, an intensified campaign against criminality and illegal drugs, and a sustained internal cleansing of NCRPO’s ranks which proved to be an answer to the worsening crime situation in Metro Manila,” the PMA said.


“As PNP Chief, he focused his leadership on achieving a truly disciplined organization while implementing a massive internal cleansing program anchored on firm discipline and respect for oneself and the public,” the PMA added.

Meanwhile, Eleazar was conferred the Cavalier Award for his efforts against illegal drugs and organized crime as then district director of the Quezon City Police District (QCPD).

“He pushed a relentless drive against illegal drugs and other forms of criminality in Quezon City, getting big criminal groups along the way.  By late 2017, QCPD was chosen as the Most Trusted Police District per Napolcom surveys,” the PMA said.

Nine other PMA alumni also each received the Cavalier Award: Ronnie Gil Gavan (PMA Class 1993, for Coast Guard Operations); Philippine Army Sniper Task Group Commander Harold Nemeño (PMA Class 1998, for Special Operations); SEAL Unit Commanding Gilbert Villareal (PMA Class 1998, for Naval Operations); Ramon Flores (PMA Class 1994, for Army Operations);

Director for Operations of 5th Fighter Wing Rolando Peña III (PMA Class 1997, for Air Operations); Leo Angelo Lieuterio (PMA Class 1998, for Alumni Affairs); Jesus Lomeda Jr. (PMA Class 1980, for Special Field); Fernando Mesa (PMA Class 1975, for Public Administration) and Louie Ticman (PMA Class 1976, for Private Enterprise).  /muf

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Cavalier Award, Philippine Military Academy, Philippine news updates, PMA, PMA Alumni Homecoming
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2019 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.