Wednesday, September 26, 2018
  • share this

48 solons tell Cam to quit PCSO, face contempt rap

/ 07:11 AM March 21, 2018

‘THREATENING REMARKS’ Sandra Cam testifies at the Senate in January on the alleged extravagant spending by the PCSO on a Christmas party for its employees. —LYN RILLON

At least 48 congressmen, led by Minority Leader Danilo Suarez and Negros Oriental Rep. Arnolfo Teves Jr. have demanded the resignation of Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office (PCSO) Director Sandra Cam and sought contempt proceedings against the controversial head of a whistleblowers’ group.

The congressmen made the demand through House Resolution No. 1777 which came weeks after Cam, in a heated exchange at a hearing of the games and amusement committee on Feb. 28, accused Teves of involvement in illegal gambling.


“Aside from accusing a member of this House of alleged wrongdoing, Ms Sandra Cam called Honorable Teves names and was yelling and shouting at the latter,” the resolution said.



Congressmen also cited the “contemptuous and threatening remarks” Cam made in an interview with reporters after the hearing claiming Teves intruded into a PCSO board meeting.

During that interview, Cam dared Teves: “Prove to me that you’re not the operator in Negros because I have evidence that you’re quarreling with the governor there,” referring to Teves’ alleged interest in operating Small Town Lottery (STL).

“Do not use your craziness, your stupidity on me because I’m going to fight you,” Cam said, addressing herself to Teves.

The resolution also claimed that Cam had verbally abused Suarez prior to her quarrel with Teves.

It said resource persons invited to testify in the House, like Cam, should “accord due respect” to congressmen “by reason of their positions as
duly-elected public officers.”


House guests should “observe proper decorum,” the resolution said.


“Such unruly behavior of Ms Sandra Cam is a direct
affront to this institution,” the resolution read.

Aside from Teves and Suarez, other congressmen who affixed their names as author or supporter of the resolution were:

• Robert Ace Barbers
• Greg Gasataya
• Melecio Yap Jr.
• Leo Rafael Cueva
• Alfredo Benitez
• Alejandro Mirasol
• Jocelyn Limkaichong
• Manuel Sagarbarria
• Raul del Mar
• Carlito Marquez
• Rene Relampagos
• Emmanuel Billones
• Ramon Durano IV
• Peter John Calderon
• Jonas Cortez
• Wilfredo Caminero
• Raul Tupas
• Aileen Radaza
• Ben Evardone
• Luis Jose Angel Campos Jr.
• Manuel Luis Lopez
• Lord Allan Jay Velasco
• Franz Alvarez
• Gil Acosta
• Emmanuel Madrona
• Rosanna Vergara
• Magnolia Antonino
• Micaela Violago
• Noel Villanueva
• Nancy Catamco
• Maria Valentina Plaza
• Mercedes Cagas
• Glona Labadlabad
• Harlin Neill Abayon III
• Eugene Michael de Vera
• Julieta Cortuna
• Alfredo Garbin Jr
• Aniceto Bertiz III
• Francisco Datol Jr.
• Jose Atienza Jr.
• Ciriaco Calalang
• Anthony Bravo
• Mark Aeron Sambar
• Mariano Michael Velarde
• Rodante Marcoleta
• Joseph Stephen Paduano

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Arnolfo Teves Jr., Danilo Suarez, PCSO, Sandra Cam
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2018 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.