Tuesday, July 17, 2018
  • share this

This Week’s Milestones: Aug. 13-19, 2017

/ 05:00 AM August 13, 2017

Aug. 19, 1940

The municipality of Dansalan, the former name of Marawi City, became a city through Commonwealth Act No. 592. Dansalan, which means “a place of destination,” was organized in 1907. It was renamed Marawi City in 1956 by virtue of Republic Act No. 1552. The city is the capital of Lanao del Sur province and is the most populous city in the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao, with a population of 201,785 as of 2015.


Aug. 19, 2015

Batangas province was reapportioned into six legislative districts (from only four) by virtue of Republic Act No. 10673 signed by then President Benigno Aquino III. The fifth district is now composed of Batangas City and the sixth district is now composed of Lipa City.

—Compiled by Kathleen de Villa, Inquirer Research

Sources: Inquirer Archives, DOT, officialgazette.gov.ph, PSA, pia.gov.ph, ilocosnorte.gov.ph, tuguegaraocity.gov.ph

Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: This Week's Milestones
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2018 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.