Latest Stories

12 collectors heed Biazon’s order to step down


Several district collectors have complied with the directive of Commissioner Ruffy Biazon to relinquish their posts in preparation for reassignment in the first round of a wide-ranging reform at the Bureau of Customs.

At press time, at least 12 district collectors from various ports and subports in the country had submitted letters taking leave of their positions to Biazon.

The customs bureau has 17 major port collectors and 37 subport collectors nationwide.

Biazon issued a memorandum on Friday directing the officials to vacate their current assignments in writing on or before Monday.

Among those who have complied is Port of Manila district collector Rogel Gatchalian, one of the so-called “three kings” or well-connected collectors who head the three Metro Manila revenue districts.

“This is to give the commissioner a free hand to decide … and to show that I’m not clinging to my post,” said Gatchalian in a text message.

Gatchalian, who has been POM district collector for the past three years, also denied he was being backed by Sen. Juan Ponce Enrile.

“[I want] to disprove the allegation that Senator Enrile is meddling in the affairs of the bureau in my favor,” he said.

The two other so-called “kings” are Ricardo Belmonte, younger brother of Speaker Feliciano Belmonte and district collector at the Manila International Container Port, and Carlos So who heads the Ninoy Aquino International Airport customs district.

Belmonte has yet to submit a letter to Biazon but in an interview on Friday, he indicated he would comply with the directive.

“We are always ready for a revamp. Anytime that the commissioner says you go, we follow,” he said.

The other district collectors who have vacated their posts are Edward James Dy Buco, Port of Davao; Ronnie Silvestre, Port of Clark; Adelina Molina, Subic; Edward de la Cuesta, Cebu; Oswaldo Geli, Surigao; and Darwisha Shuck, Zamboanga.

Subport collectors Noah Dimaporo, Harbour Center; Jemima Sy-Flores, North Harbor; Josefa Villaseñor, Nasipit Port in Agusan del Norte; Pendatun Alim, Dadiangas Port in General Santos City, and Pedro Quinones, Parang Port in Maguindanao, have also submitted their letters to Biazon.

Lourdes Mangaoang, collector at the Cagayan de Oro port, has yet to submit her letter of withdrawal but has signified her intention to vacate the post.

Biazon’s directive came just days after a stinging public rebuke of Customs personnel by President Aquino in his State of the Nation Address on July 22.

Biazon said the revamp of district collectors was just the first round of a process of reassignments that would be implemented at the agency.

He said he would submit his recommendations on which collectors would be retained and which ones would be replaced to the Department of Finance.

“The replacements are subject to the approval of the DOF. Under the law, I may designate the person to be assigned to a particular post but it has to be approved by the secretary of finance,” he said.

Follow Us

Follow us on Facebook Follow on Twitter Follow on Twitter

Recent Stories:

Complete stories on our Digital Edition newsstand for tablets, netbooks and mobile phones; 14-issue free trial. About to step out? Get breaking alerts on your mobile.phone. Text ON INQ BREAKING to 4467, for Globe, Smart and Sun subscribers in the Philippines.

Tags: Bureau of Customs , Carlos So , Juan Ponce Enrile , Manila International Container Port , Ninoy Aquino International Airport , Port of Manila , Rogel Gatchalian , Ruffy Biazon , Speaker Feliciano Belmonte

Copyright © 2014, .
To subscribe to the Philippine Daily Inquirer newspaper in the Philippines, call +63 2 896-6000 for Metro Manila and Metro Cebu or email your subscription request here.
Factual errors? Contact the Philippine Daily Inquirer's day desk. Believe this article violates journalistic ethics? Contact the Inquirer's Reader's Advocate. Or write The Readers' Advocate:
c/o Philippine Daily Inquirer Chino Roces Avenue corner Yague and Mascardo Streets, Makati City, Metro Manila, Philippines Or fax nos. +63 2 8974793 to 94
  1. Santiago accuses Lacson of fronting for Enrile, Gigi Reyes
  2. Name names, Lacson told
  3. Santiago: Enrile, Lacson, Reyes plotting massive psywar operation
  4. Slain officer’s ‘diagram’ rocks PNP
  5. Kris Aquino’s ex- close in security named new Air Force chief
  6. Ex-COA chief nabbed for plunder
  7. 12 senators on Napoles ‘pork’ list, says Lacson
  8. Obama: US will defend Japan vs China
  9. Save the queen? Aide takes fall for Enrile, Gigi Reyes
  10. HK apology: Why Estrada and not Aquino?
  1. Napoles spills beans on Enrile, Estrada, Revilla – De Lima
  2. 12 senators on Napoles ‘pork’ list, says Lacson
  3. Gigi Reyes pins blame on aide
  4. Estrada: Gigi Reyes won’t testify vs JPE
  5. Bernice Lee arrested by NBI team
  6. Enrile chief aide back in PH ‘to face charges’
  7. Cedric Lee’s cohort flies out of PH despite look-out order – De Lima
  8. Suspect in Vhong Navarro’s mauling wants to turn state witness – De Lima
  9. Reckless driver endangered lives of Aquino, entourage–report
  10. Lawyer: Napoles ‘will tell all’
  1. MRT passengers pass the hat for 6-year-old Ashley
  2. Rookie, lady cops lauded for quick response to MOA heist
  3. Napoles spills beans on Enrile, Estrada, Revilla – De Lima
  4. Malaysia averts another air tragedy; pilot lands troubled plane safely
  5. Revilla says he was joking; Lacson stands by his story
  6. Revilla ‘consulted’ Lacson on how he evaded arrest
  7. 12 senators on Napoles ‘pork’ list, says Lacson
  8. Gigi Reyes pins blame on aide
  9. Cudia, dismissed for lying, got 99% in conduct
  10. Kim Henares needs a reprimand, says Cayetano


  • Obama due in Seoul as North Korea nuclear test fears grow
  • Hold departure order out vs Corona, Singson
  • Malaysia to release MH370 report–PM
  • Man found dead in Quezon City, alleged victim of summary execution–report
  • Aquino to lead Air Force turnover rites
  • Sports

  • Michael Phelps loses to Lochte in comeback meet
  • Sharapova advances to Stuttgart quarterfinals
  • Galedo caps ride of redemption
  • Beermen, Express dispute second semis slot today
  • Lady Agilas upset Lady Bulldogs in four sets
  • Lifestyle

  • ‘Recovered’ Banksy works on display ahead of sale
  • Marinduque: Visiting the ‘palm of the ocean’
  • First at Vatican in 60 years
  • How Jing Monis Salon gave Krissy the pixie
  • Want to be a supermodel? Work on your inner beauty, says Joey Espino
  • Entertainment

  • Paul McCartney to play at Candlestick concert
  • Kristoffer Martin: from thug to gay teen
  • Has Ai Ai fallen deeply with ‘sireno?’
  • California court won’t review Jackson doctor case
  • Cris Villonco on play adapted from different medium
  • Business

  • PAL hailed for ban on shark fin cargo
  • BSP to change tint of P100 bill
  • Nielsen sees car buying boom in the Philippines
  • How author of best-seller exposed ‘one percent’ economic elite
  • Bangko Sentral readies new bank lending rules
  • Technology

  • Cloud strength helps Microsoft earnings top Street
  • Vatican announces hashtag for April 27 canonizations
  • Enrile in Masters of the Universe, Lord of the Rings?
  • Top Traits of Digital Marketers
  • No truth to viral no-visa ‘chronicles’
  • Opinion

  • Editorial Cartoon, April 25, 2014
  • No deal, Janet
  • Like making Al Capone a witness vs his gang
  • MERS-CoV and mothers
  • A graduation story
  • Global Nation

  • China welcomes PH apology
  • Only 4 Etihad passengers not accounted for
  • Abandoned in Malta,15 PH seamen return
  • Senator hopes PH will also get same vow
  • HK victims to get P115M; traders raised money
  • Marketplace