PNP top brass take oath in Palace



Philippine National Police Director General Alan Purisima. INQUIRER FILE PHOTO

MANILA, Philippines – Philippine National Police Director General Alan Purisima formally earned his four-star rank as President Benigno Aquino III administered the mass oath-taking of 48 newly promoted generals in Malacañang on Thursday.

Purisima led the top brass of the PNP in taking their oath of office before Aquino, who was visibly happy to see the PNP leadership gathered together with their spouses and children, dressed to the nines, at Rizal Hall.

The oath-taking was ceremonial in nature since Purisima had already received his fourth star last December, after he was promoted to the organization’s highest rank by virtue of PNP National Headquarters General Order 2107, dated Dec. 19, 2012.

There is only one four-star general in the PNP -whose official title is Police Director General – the rank appropriate for the position of chief PNP.

Deputy Director Generals Ager Ontog Jr. and Felipe Rojas Jr. also each got their three-star rank.

At press time, it was unclear whether Police Director Cipriano Querol Jr., the No. 4 man in the PNP, had been promoted to DDG status.

The first woman general, Police Director Lina Sarmiento, got her second star.

The other star-rank officers in the PNP are Police Directors Manuel Barcena, Angelito Pacia, Alexander Roldan, Leonardo Espina, George Regis, Wilson Victorio, Gil Hitosis, Alex Paul Monteagudo, Napoleon Estilles and Carmelo Valmoria.

The newest police chief superintendents are Alexander Ignacio, Henry Rañola Jr., Arrazad Subong, Generoso Cerbo Jr., Christopher Laxa, Joel Ma. Alvarez, Wendy Rosario, Nestor Fajura, Rogelio Damazo, Noel Constantino, Ismael Lapira, Federico Castro Jr., Mario Lopez Jr., Miguel Antonio Jr., James Bucayu, Manuel Felix, Allen Fortes, Isagani Nerez, Wency Pascual, Liza Sabong, Mario Soriano, Louie Oppus, Lyndel Desquitado, Roberto Soriano, Virgil Bombita, Jose Ernesto Fernandez Jr., Dennis Peña, Josephus Angan, Edwin Ronan, Luis Ricardo Chavez, Pancho Adelberto Hubilla and Rolando Macusi and Wilson Amper.

Get Inquirer updates while on the go, add us on these apps:

Inquirer Viber

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

To subscribe to the Philippine Daily Inquirer newspaper in the Philippines, call +63 2 896-6000 for Metro Manila and Metro Cebu or email your subscription request here.

Factual errors? Contact the Philippine Daily Inquirer's day desk. Believe this article violates journalistic ethics? Contact the Inquirer's Reader's Advocate. Or write The Readers' Advocate:

c/o Philippine Daily Inquirer Chino Roces Avenue corner Yague and Mascardo Streets, Makati City,Metro Manila, Philippines Or fax nos. +63 2 8974793 to 94


editors' picks



latest videos