Monday, June 25, 2018
  • share this

Brillantes to quit if ‘Top 6’ senators out of ‘Magic 12’

/ 12:55 PM May 17, 2013

Comelec chairman Sixto Brillantes Jr. INQUIRER FILE PHOTO

MANILA, Philippines—He said it again. Commission on Elections chairman Sixto Brillantes Jr. said he would resign from his post if the any of the senatorial candidates who were proclaimed would be dropped from the “Magic 12” as the counting of vote returns resumed Friday.

“Pwede naman mag project . . . If the results cannot be adversely affected. Pwede na mag proclaim,” Brillantes said in an ambush interview in response to criticisms against the early proclamation.

Proclaimed winners were Grace Poe, Loren Legarda, Francis Escudero, Alan Peter Cayetano, Nancy Binay and Juan Edgardo Angara. Comelec noted that their proclamation certificates were presented in alphabetical order.


“Maski hindi pa kumpleto, hindi na magagalaw yon [Even if the count hasn’t been completed, the first six won’t move anymore]. Prove to me any of the first six matatanggal sa 12 [will be dropped from the]. Mag re-resign ako [I will resign],” the poll chief said.

He also dared his critics to file an annulment of proclamation.

In an interview with Radyo Inquirer 990AM on Friday, election lawyer Romulo Macalintal, in reference to a National Board of Canvass rule, argued that the proclamation process could only be done after all certificates of canvass (COC) have been counted.

He even called on to the newly proclaimed senators to return their certificates of proclamation “as show of love and respect to voters.”

“Kung ako ‘yung pinroklamang senador, isasauli ko ang Certificate of Proclamation na yan. Katumbas yan ng pagtataksil nila sa bumoto sa kanila,” Macalintal said.

As of 11 a.m., the Comelec, sititing as NBOC, has received 100 CoCs.

Still on the top three are Grace Poe with 12,986,253 votes, followed by Loren Legarda with 11,896,817; and Francis “Chiz” Escudero with 11,326,358.

The three remaining candidates who were proclaimed last night — Alan Cayetano, Nancy Binay, and Juan Edgardo Angara remained on the completed the six.


Binay, however, opted to wait “until every vote has been considered”.

Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: 2013 elections, Comelec, Elections, Politics, proclamation, Senate, Sixto Brillantes Jr.
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2018 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.