Dato Arroyo proclaimed winner in Camarines Sur


Camarines Sur Representative Diosdado “Dato” Arroyo. FILE PHOTO

NAGA CITY, Philippines— Representative Diosdado Ignacio Arroyo won a second term as representative of the second district of Camarines Sur in the House of Representatives, fending off a strong challenge from outgoing Camarines Sur Governor Raymund Luis “LRay” Villafuerte.

Arroyo (Lakas), who garnered a total of 65,926 votes, was proclaimed winner by the provincial board of canvassers at 11:30 a.m. with a margin of 8,490 votes over  Villafuerte (Nationalista Party), his closest challenger.

Villafuerte got 57,436 votes while the third candidate, Sabas Mabulo (Liberal Party), got 7,094.

Another reelectionist in Camarines Sur, fifth district Representative Fortuno Salvio, was proclaimed winner at around 11 a.m.

Fortuno (LP), garnered 85,914 votes to win the race against Felix Alfelor Jr. (Nationalist People’s Coalition), who got 45,217, and character actor Rez Cortez (United Nationalist Alliance), who got 16,283 votes.

Get Inquirer updates while on the go, add us on these apps:

Inquirer Viber

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of INQUIRER.net. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

To subscribe to the Philippine Daily Inquirer newspaper in the Philippines, call +63 2 896-6000 for Metro Manila and Metro Cebu or email your subscription request here.

Factual errors? Contact the Philippine Daily Inquirer's day desk. Believe this article violates journalistic ethics? Contact the Inquirer's Reader's Advocate. Or write The Readers' Advocate:

c/o Philippine Daily Inquirer Chino Roces Avenue corner Yague and Mascardo Streets, Makati City,Metro Manila, Philippines Or fax nos. +63 2 8974793 to 94


editors' picks



latest videos