Wednesday, April 25, 2018
  • share this

In the Know: Mayon Volcano eruptions

/ 01:54 AM May 08, 2013

Mayon Volcano erupted at least 50 times between February 1616 and July 2006, according to the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs).

Admired worldwide for its near-perfect cone, Mayon had its most destructive eruption on Feb. 1, 1814, when a mix of pyroclastic flows, volcanic lightning and lahar damaged the towns of Camalig, Cagsawa, Budiao and Guinobatan in Albay, and half of the province, killing 1,200 people.

Between June 4 and July 23, 1897, it blew up, killing at least 350 people, most probably from pyroclastic flows. Its violent phase lasted 17 hours and damaged the seashore of Sto. Domingo and the villages of Sto. Niño, San Isidro, San Roque, San Antonio and Misericordia in Sto. Domingo town, Ligao, parts of Bigaa in San Fernando, and Legazpi City, Phivolcs said.


Another eruption between Feb. 2 and April 4, 1993, was characterized by pyroclastic flows, lava flow and lahar. It claimed 77 lives and injured five others in such areas as Mabinit, Bonga, Camalig, Sto. Domingo and Legazpi.

Other eruptions occurred in July 1766 (39 dead), July 1853 (34 dead) and December 1871 (three dead).

Phivolcs recorded minor ash and steam eruptions with no reported casualties in 1861, 1862, June 1873, November 1876, December 1888, September 1941 and 1943. It noted that a series of ash explosions in 2003 and 2004 served as precursor to the 2006 activity.

Mayon’s last blast on July 14, 2006, was characterized by lava flow and ash explosions that reached as high as 800 meters.—Inquirer Research

Source: Phivolcs

Responding to appeals for help, the Philippine Daily Inquirer is extending its relief to the families affected by the recent volcanic activities of Mayon.

Cash donations may be deposited in the Inquirer Foundation Corp. Banco De Oro (BDO) Current Account No: 007960018860.

Inquiries may be addressed to Inquirer’s Corporate Affairs office through Connie Kalagayan at 897-4426, and Bianca Kasilag-Macahilig at 897-8808 local 352,

Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Mayon Volcano, Philippines, Volcanic eruptions
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Disney shows how Han Solo and Lando meet at CinemaCon

April 25, 2018 06:48 PM


Villa stays as PH envoy in Kuwait – Cayetano

April 25, 2018 06:48 PM


World Malaria Day: Prevention tips for travelers

April 25, 2018 06:47 PM


Marvel’s Stan Lee accused of fondling himself

April 25, 2018 06:41 PM

© Copyright 1997-2018 | All Rights Reserved