Thursday, May 24, 2018
  • share this

Santiago: Bets who betrayed Iglesia Ni Cristo will pay

By: - Reporter / @MAgerINQ
/ 01:33 PM April 25, 2013

Senator Miriam Defensor-Santiago. INQUIRER FILE PHOTO

MANILA, Philippines – Senator  Miriam  Defensor-Santiago on Thursday warned re-electionist senators, who have allegedly “double-crossed” the influential  Iglesia Ni Cristo “during a recent political controversy.”

Santiago said the campaign survey results  might “undergo  radical changes”   when the INC releases the names of candidates  it would  support in the upcoming elections. The religious group , she noted, reportedly now has nine million voters.

“I understand that the official INC list of approved candidates will be released soon. I further understand that INC, out of patriotism, took a strong position during a recent political controversy,” she said in a statement.


“Certain re-electionist senators reportedly promised to support the INC position, but out of opportunism, reneged on their promise when the hour came.”

“Therefore, I issue this strong note of caution: The campaign survey results might undergo radical changes, after the INC releases its official list. In other words, you don’t double-cross the INC and get away with it,”  the senator added.

But Santiago declined to divulge further details on this alleged incident, saying “it might violate the privacy of the INC.”

The senator also predicted  a change of leadership in the Senate now being  headed by its president, Senator Juan Ponce-Enrile.

The next Senate President, she said, would come from the administration coalition which will be composed of  16 senators.

“With 16 senators more or less in the Senate, it is a no-brainer that the administration will get to pick the next Senate President from the most senior members of the coalition,” she said.

“Depending on the effect of the solid INC vote,”  Santiago said  the administration coalition would be composed of Juan Edgardo “Sonny” Angara, Paolo Benigno Aquino, Alan Peter Cayetano, Pia Cayetano, Franklin Drilon, Francis Escudero, Teofisto Guingona III, Loren Legarda, Ferdinand Marcos, Jr., Sergio Osmeña III, Aquilino Pimentel III, Grace Poe, Ralph Recto, Vicente Sotto III, Antonio Trillanes IV, and Cynthia Villar.

The incumbent  Senate leader, she said, would  be part of the opposition bloc along with Senators Jose “Jinggoy” Estrada, Nancy Binay, JV Ejercito and Gregorio Honasan or Jack Ponce Enrile.


Santiago  counted herself  as part of a bloc of independent senators alogn with Senators Ramon “Bong” Revilla Jr.  and Lito Lapid.

Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: 2013 elections, Elections 2013, Iglesia ni Cristo, Miriam Santiago, News
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2018 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.