Saturday, June 23, 2018
  • share this

3 PBF champs crowned in Year of the Snake

/ 07:37 AM February 12, 2013

MANDALUYONG CITY – Three new champions in the Philippine Boxing Federation (PBF) were produced on the eve of the Chinese New Year celebration last Saturday night held at the Mandaluyong gym.

Local bet Jimmy “Tirador” Aducal of the Jay San Pedro Stable in Mandaluyong City emerged as the new PBF junior bantamweight king after pummeling to submission Bryant Vicera of Aljo Jaro Stable from Binganonan, Rizal in 80 seconds of the 5th round via a technical knockout.

The 22-year-old flashy Aducal landed a left jab to close the right eye of Vicera in the fourth round. Vicera, however, said that it was hit by Aducal’s head butt.


The ring physician said that Vicera was no longer fit to continue after the start of the fifth round after checking out the damage on his right eye.

“Bigla po siyang namaga ng huminga ako ng malalim at lumabas ang dugo sa aking ilong,” said Vicera in a post-fight interview.

The next other title-fights, however, ended in contrasting ways.

Jason Mitsuyama of Mitsuyama Gym from San Pablo City captured the junior featherweight crown via a unanimous decision win against the over-confident Rex Olisa of Cucoy Elorde Boxing Gym of Mandaluyong.

Mitsuyama landed more telling blows while attacking his backpedalling rival in the first six rounds. Olisa suffered a cut on his right eye that became the target of Mitsuyama’s jabs until the end of the fight.

The main event, featuring Mandaluyong’s Rene Bestodio of Pablo Garcia Stable and Valenzuela City’s Rufino Mante of Johnny Mornis Stable, however, turned out to be a boring fight as both fighters showed lack of excitement to the huge crowd, who mostly decided to go home early before midnight.

It was all a trading of jab straights and no clear combinations for both boxers, who seemed tired already at the start of the bout presented by LS Sports International of promoter Jun Sarreal.

Bestodio went on to win the vacant junior lightweight title via a unanimous decision and was awarded a golden belt by former Comelec chairman Ben Abalos.


The other championship belts were awarded by his son Mayor Benhur Abalos and Councilor Dong Tan. /

Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Boxing, Philippine Boxing Federation (PBF)
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Panelo blasts Aquino indictment over DAP

June 23, 2018 07:29 AM


Duterte honors slain cop

June 23, 2018 07:26 AM

© Copyright 1997-2018 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.