Saturday, June 23, 2018
  • share this

State of calamity declared in 11 Capiz towns

/ 06:34 PM December 29, 2012

ROXAS CITY—A state of calamity has been declared in 11 towns of Capiz that suffered from flooding at the height of Typhoon “Quinta.”

The provincial board passed a resolution declaring the state of calamity on Friday, allowing the local governments of the towns to use their calamity funds.

The towns covered by the resolution are Panay, Pontevedra, Panitan, Maayon, Sigma, Mambusao, Dumarao, Dumalag, Tapaz, Cuartero and Dao.


The board resolution said the towns were the worst hit by flooding in Capiz.

Authorities in Capiz reported another typhoon-related death in Dumalag Thursday, that of a 34-year-old man identified as Franklin Fadriga, who drowned at the height of the storm.

Typhoon Quinta was the last storm to hit the Philippines this year, according to the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration, the state weather bureau.

Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Capiz, floods, Philippines - Regions, State of Calamity, typhoon Quinta, Weather
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Panelo blasts Aquino indictment over DAP

June 23, 2018 07:29 AM


Duterte honors slain cop

June 23, 2018 07:26 AM

© Copyright 1997-2018 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.