Del Rosario, Alcala are highest paid Cabinet members


Foreign Affairs Secretary Albert del Rosario. INQUIRER FILE PHOTO

MANILA, Philippines – Foreign Secretary Alberto del Rosario was the highest-paid Cabinet official in the Aquino administration last year, receiving a total of P2.936 million in salaries, bonuses and allowances, according to the 2011 Report on Salaries and Allowances released by the Commission on Audit.

The report said that Del Rosario’s pay as architect of the country’s foreign policy included P2 million in discretionary and extraordinary and miscellaneous expenses (EME).

Next to Del Rosario was Agriculture Secretary Proceso Alcala, who received P2.27 million,  including P753,345 in incentives and allowances for sitting on the board of directors of the National Food Authority Council and the Philippine Crop Insurance Corp.

Alcala also sat on the boards of 10 other government-owned and controlled corporations but with no extra compensation.

Placing third was Public Works Secretary Rogelio Singson, who was paid P2.216 million, including discretionary funds and EMEs amounting to P308,280.05.

Singson did not receive compensation for sitting on the boards of the Intramuros Administration, Philippine Fisheries Development Authority  and the Tourism Infrastructure and Enterprise Zone Authority.

Health Secretary Enrique  Ona came in at fourth with P2,182,839.78, including P360,000 in discretionary funds and EME from the Philippine Health Insurance Corp. (PhilHealth). He served unpaid on the boards of six other government-owned and –controlled corporations.

Justice Secretary Leila De Lima’s pay of P2,044,891 was fifth. All of it came from the Department of Justice because she did not receive any compensation for her positions in the Intramuros Administration, the Mactan-Cebu International Airport Authority and the Power Sector Assets and Liabilities Management Corp.

Occupying the next slots by the size of their pay envelopes were Science and Technology Secretary Mario Montejo, P1,999,735.43; Social Welfare Secretary Corazon Soliman, P1,837,487.91; Budget Secretary Florencio Abad, 1,772,104.78; Finance Secretary Cesar Purisima,  P1,752,617.57 (Purisima sat on the boards of 13 GOCCs without getting extra pay); and Defense Secretary Voltaire Gazmin; P1,742,438.29;  Commission on Higher Education chair Patricia Licuanan, P1,726,551.71;  PCDSPO Secretary Ramon Carandang;  P1,668,118.12,  National Anti-Poverty Council Sec. Joel Rocamora , P1,589,926.56;   National Economic Development Authority Director General Cayetano Paderanga Jr. ; P1,580,121.96 (Paderanga also held unpaid posts in six GOCCs);

Energy Secretary Jose Rene Almendras , P1,574,118 (Almendras sat in five GOCCs without pay); Presidential Management Staff  Secretary Julia Andrea Abad, P1,531,114.92; Environment Secretary Ramon Jesus  Paje, P1,502,121.96 (Paje held positions in 10 GOCCs without pay); Technical Education and Skills Development Authority Director General Emmanuel Joel J. Villanueva, P1,462,122;   Presidential Communications and Operations Office Secretary Herminio Coloma, P1,454,122; Chief Presidential  Legal Counsel Eduardo De Mesa, P1,452.121.96;  Office of the Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process Secretary Teresita Deles, Presidential Spokesperson Edwin Lacierda,  and Executive Secretary Paquito  Ochoa Jr., P1,452.121.96 each ; PCGG chairman Andres  Bautista , P1,452,118;

National Security Council Director General Cesar Garcia Jr.,  P1,442,344; the late Local Government and Interior Secretary Jessie Robredo, P1,441,238.54 ( Robredo held unpaid positions in two other government agencies);  Education Secretary Armin Luistro, P1,428,375.26 ; Agrarian Reform Secretary Virgilio Delos Reyes, P1,388,303.99 (Delos Reyes also held unpaid positions in four GOCCs);

Trade and Industry Secretary  Gregory Domingo, P1,351,976.36 (Domingo held posts on the boards of 12 GOCCs without extra pay) ; Metro Manila Development Authority chairman Francis Tolentino, P1,240,122.00; Transportation and Communications Secretary Jose De Jesus (six months),  P809,633.03;  Secretary Manuel A. Roxas II (six months), P666.598.68;  Tourism Secretary Ramon Jimenez Jr. (four months ), P372,416.00; and Secretary Alberto Lim, P761,706.

Get Inquirer updates while on the go, add us on these apps:

Inquirer Viber

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

  • nag

    DOLE Secretary Baldoz not in the list?

  • Talahib

    ..nakikita ng taumbayan ang perang ibinabayad natin ng buwis… sa mga cabinet members..ang ipakita sana sa mga susunod na balita ay kung mag-kano ang pork barrel ng mga pulitiko….

  • rsanr

    Okay lang yan, basta walang corruption at lagayan, nakabantay ang bayan!

  • dodong1

    ilabas din yung mga bayad ng mga senatong at congresstong kasama yung mga tong nila..

  • basyong

    para naman tayong ginagawang tanga ng report na eto.kahit 2m pesos akala natin napakalaking pera na yan? gamitin naman sana natin ang mga kukute nating kung i a analyze ang sweldong kinikita ng mga bwayang eto.2Milyon pero yung kabig sa ibaba magkano.parang mga gobernador tongresmen mayor etc bale wala ang sweldo pero yung kupit ang pinakamalaki.yan ang gusto namin malaman?

  • mangtom

    Sayang ang pera ng taxpayers na ibinabayad dito sa del Rosario. Incompetent premera klase.
    All talk no work.

  • boybakal

    Richest Cabinet Secretaries, multi million in dollars.
    Bat sumusweldo yan mga yan. Barya barya lang.

  • Adarna

    i was not expecting. ang liit ng sahod. ang daming responsibilities. malaki din ang risk. watever, salamat sa majority sa inyo for making our country in good shape right now. pero meron iba dyan sa list na parang walang ginagawa. mag resign or mag ofw ka na lang, u will earn better.

  • Jess

    Maliit ang sahod compared to their corporate counterparts. Is this one reason why there is a lot of kurakot in many sectors of government? 

To subscribe to the Philippine Daily Inquirer newspaper in the Philippines, call +63 2 896-6000 for Metro Manila and Metro Cebu or email your subscription request here.

Factual errors? Contact the Philippine Daily Inquirer's day desk. Believe this article violates journalistic ethics? Contact the Inquirer's Reader's Advocate. Or write The Readers' Advocate:

c/o Philippine Daily Inquirer Chino Roces Avenue corner Yague and Mascardo Streets, Makati City,Metro Manila, Philippines Or fax nos. +63 2 8974793 to 94


editors' picks



latest videos